Pancit for long life!

in #noodles7 years ago

In Filipino pancit or pansit are noodles. Noodles thar are introduced by the Chinese. Now it has many variations in local cuisine. As a food lover that I am and wanted to know about "pancit" I know how to cook by the way and knows a thing or two in the kitchen. My mother was the first to taught me how to cook and also my sister. Back to Filipino favourite pancit. According to Google it is derived Hokkien pian i sit which literally means comfort food. Different kinds of pancit can be found now in the Philippines, we have the pancit canton, pancit palabok (the one popularly known is in the fastfood joint Jollibee) pancit luglog. It has different toppings now as well not only pork like back in the day. Chicken,shrimps,clams,oyster,egg and other seafood can also be used as toppings. For Filipino culture it widely served in gatherings like wedding,baptismal,outings,holidays but the most significant one was "birthday". It is believe that pancit is associated with goodluck and more so of long life. Making it the most important dish prepared and serve in most birthday occasion as a token for the celebrant for prosperity and longevity. IMG_2001.JPG

Sort:  

hahaa Speaking of pancit, we just bought pancit from a Filipino store near us and it was good. We got it for my mom since it was her birthday yesterday and who was craving it for a long time now:) It's a traditional food we always try to get when there's an occasion/event. Like what you mentioned and as from my parents, we need to eat this especially on our birthdays for longevity/long life:)... Well, any type of noodles would work but we prefer Pancit. Interesting post my friend.

Oh hi. How nice to know that we both like our pansit hahahah. Nothing beats home cooking i guess. And being home away from home. I also follow you now and take care always my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65