Time To Let Go

in #nonfiction5 years ago (edited)





Today's topic is retire, and well I can think of retiring a few things in my house, although one of them there ain't no way that's happening!

What can ya do?

It's raining and miserable out, might as well get this writing done right quick. :D



Time To Let Go.

What do you do when it's time to retire a blanket that your kid loves? She's had this blanket since she was two, she's now twelve, and don't even think about getting near it! LOL

I mention it might need a wash, and I get daggers. She keeps it in a pillow case to keep it from getting dirty and breaks it out every so often when she gets ready for bed. It's in great condition for being so old, so no harm in keeping it a little while longer perhaps.

Maybe next year we can maybe pack that bad boy up and put it in the attic for safe keeping.

She's growing fast, and she is only three inches away from being as tall as me. She is way above average for height for her age. Yet I still see the baby that was once so little. The time flies away faster than I care for.

I look at pictures of her that are displayed in my photo viewer on my desk, and see that little face, and the things she was doing back then when we got this blanket. It's a blanket with monkeys on it, in case you were wondering. Amazing to see how things turn out!

Is it time to let go? Hmm... probably not the best course of action right now.

Ok I guess that is enough reminiscing for now lmao. :D

And just an fyi here... the main post image is not my daughter, she's from pixabay. :D


I hope you enjoyed this freewrite, catch ya on the next one. Have an awesome day. :D

Thursday Prompt - Retire - Click Here For Info
Original Image Link
Sort:  

LOVE this story!!

touches my heart

Thanks! :D Glad you liked it. Hope all is well on your end.

My retirement piece was a blue teddy bear. I'll never forget when I finally passed it over to my baby sister. I was 14!

Posted using Partiko Android

Right :D Sometimes it takes a while I suppose, at least you passed it down to your sister. Have a great day. :-)

My oldest boy had a stuffed dog - "Dog" - until he was at least 12. It's still around, but I was sad when he no longer needed to sleep with it.

Awww, that's awesome... "Dog" :D Yeah I feel ya, I got crates full of stuff that is no longer needed, just waiting patiently for an older version of her to claim once again.

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 81.88%

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

I have never had children, but the love for your daughter is evident. It comes forth in your writing.

Best leave that blanket alone! I have a grand-nephew that has a teddy bear I crochet and his will take off an arm if someone tries to get it away from him (he is 3 years old).

Hope your weekend was epic. Have a good upcoming week!

Thanks Sarge! :D I hear ya.. I am not messing about with the blanket... and yes they get attached to things at an early age, mind your arms and legs. ;-) Thank you, you too my friend. I hope your week is an awesome one as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43