You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Insomniac Goes Camping (Nonfiction Version)

in #nonfiction6 years ago (edited)

Wow, I think this is the most intimate piece I've read by you. It's such a human moment, like stepping into your mind for the night.

I just woke up, 2:29 am, I can't remember what woke me up but I couldn't sleep again. I spent about 30 minutes tossing and turning in my bed, thinking of hypothetical scenarios with faeries.

One of my favourite activities as a young teenager was camping. I used to camp a lot with the scouts. I loved building stuff out of wood, the campfires, the songs, the camaraderie. There is a lot of beautiful tropical nature here in Venezuela, and there aren't any big wild animals. There are snakes and such, but I imagine we were in controlled environments near civilisation where these are not big problems.

I loved to read the moment with your daughter's hair on the velcro. In a certain sense, it was some sort of sacrifice, like "I give my sleep for your sleep". I also have a lot of trouble sleeping while camping, especially because, being a tropical country, at least half the days of camping have rainy nights and the tents are roaring with water splashing above and around us, and if the tent is old, they're also leaking water and we have to cover up from the tiny droplets of nightly cold.

Thank you for sharing this. Really. I feel like I'm back at those pleasant times, despite the anxiety of not being able to sleep.

Sort:  

Camping at night is really amazing to me. The whole article seems me a dream as you have given details the time you could not close your beautiful eyes for your family. This is natural to human being. You are actually a good father @donkeypong who take care their kids so much that you forget sleeping. silent insomnia is natural because people are naturally scare of wild animals into the forest. Finally, I feel that you had amazing camping this time with your family and I enjoyed every words like virtual reality.

Thanks. Glad you liked it. Stay tuned for Version 2.

Obviously, I am waiting for the next. Thanks a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66896.12
ETH 3078.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71