No Man's Sky - Naming Contest - Name this System with 6 Planets, just 759 LY from Galactic Center!

in #nomanssky8 years ago

I've finally reached the center of the galaxy. I love this area - it is the one place in the game where you can find tons of planets named by other people. I then realized - the names these solar systems in the center are given - they will be seen, and visited, by the most players!

I'm a big believer in groupthink, so I thought - why not let a larger group decide the name for this system? I gathered the intel, in the form of a photojournal I'll share below. You are invited to comment below with a thematic suggestion for the name of this Solar System, and the 6 Planets contained therein. To sweeten the pot, I'd like to give away the majority of the rewards generated by this article. If this article generates $10 or more, I'll allocate 50% of the returned rewards to the winning submission. Further, I'll allocate 25% to whichever comment takes 'Audience Favorite' in the form of must upvoted comment.

I'll do my best to describe the solar system and the experiences on each planet. I'm sure the pictures will tell the stories far better than any words I can muster. Your job will be to come up with a clever theme which encapsulates a solar system with this look/feel, and appropriate names for the 6 planets therein. A 'perfect' submission would be entirely thematically consistent, with each planet's name also being supported by its environmental properties. Close definitely counts here, please don't expect perfection. Each system and planet will show its default name. I have not yet renamed any - that will happen at the end. At that time I will update the article with pictures showing the renaming.

With that said, I'd like to begin the photodocumentation of this solar system. It is one of the very closest I have ever claimed, or to my knowledge that remains to be claimed in the Euclid Galaxy. Enjoy the tour, and then brainstorm away!

Let's start by taking a look at the solar system as a whole:

Here are two panoramics which capture 5 of the 6 planets. The unseen planet rests beneath me as these photos are taken: You can get a good sense of the heavy, red haze present in this solar system.

There's a really nice picture of these aligned planets, from the ground a planet, further on.

Planet 1 - Liziamentu Yisvadb

From space. Looks almost earthlike.

From ground, with planetary summary. A rather nasty planet.

Planet 2 - Jainenesigi-Enzel

No good shot from space - the deep, dark red color and lack of lighting made it tough to get a shot.
Here is its environmental summary:

I got excited by the claimed of Fauna, until I saw it was one of our dreaded, crawling crab friends! On the plus side, there was gold to be had if you could fend off the attackers.

Planet 3 - Timfinselka-Artag

Deep, rich reds and blues, a water planet. Deluging rain with little in the way of life!

Here's one buddy I ran into:

This looked like an out-of-place desert:

Planet 4 - Ofliele Kiril

A beautiful planet, with abundant flora and fauna. A pleasing green to the eyes. Oh and by the way, it is pouring poison rain ;-)

Striking, contrasting colors were abundant here. As well as the capacity to replenish critical supplies.

Planet 5 - Rakhoutk Zuraik

The tall pillars set against the waterfront made for a striking landing.

Here's the planetary summary:

At first blush I thought things were disappointingly barren. But I kept finding new surprises. The Venom Sacs were abundant - a great profit opportunity!

Planet 6 - Irnamoi Pevesye

Purely by chance, I feel I saved the best for last. From space it is unclear, but things look a bit more grey/metallic than most planets.

Entering the atmosphere, our suspicions are confirmed. Beautiful flying stone platforms are abundant.

By the numbers, this planet doesn't have a lot going for it:

Still somehow, this view makes that perfectly fine:

This concludes our visual tour of the Mustedemanns solar system. If you've enjoyed this concept, please follow me, upvote, but most importantly - participate! Submit your ideas, upvote others ideas you like, or let me know what you'd like to see in a future No Man's Sky article.

Sort:  

This article is really old, so the system is likely already named, but as a Nintendo fan, I would like to suggest the name Lylat (the main system in the Star Fox games). Multiple planets are toxic, which reminded me of Zoness, a planet polluted by Andross. There's also Timfinselka-Artag, the water planet, and what do you know, Lylat has one too; it's called Aquas, and in Starfox 64, Andross had a bioweapon there (that might explain the low amount of life). Rakhoutk Zuraik is a somewhat barren planet with venom sacks, so if there's a planet Venom, that's it. Finally, Irnamoi Pevesye's the floating islands are reminiscent of a Smash Bros. stage, and being a prominent Nintendo franchise, Star Fox has had plenty of Smash Bros. stages, including Corneria, which I suggest naming Irnamoi Pevesye (because you can't have Lylat without Corneria!). I think this was a great idea, and if you ever do something like this again, I might throw my hat into the ring again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60340.70
ETH 2597.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53