How to Farm Rigogen - No Man's Sky

in #nomanssky7 years ago

I remember burning about a day figuring out where the heck you found Rigogen after the Foundation Update. Does it show up on planetary scans? Where can I find it? What does it look like?  With the mysteries figured out, I wanted to put together a guide that will get you on track to harvesting Rigogen like a boss in no time.

The video should give you everything to get started:

/v/107429971

The key points are:

  • Find a water planet. 
  • Confirm the water goes deep (I have read 15 meters). 
  • Find an area of seafloor which is not barren; it contains vegetation. 
  • Prepare Shielding Shards (Iron and Platinum) for the Aeration Membrane on your Exosuit.
  • Identify Rigogen as the glowing plants - they almost appear as chandeliers.
  • Start at one edge of a vegetation bay, run parallel to shore at minimum Rigogen-gathering depth. Return further out, still parallel to shore.
  • Refill your Membrane as Oxygen gets low.

A typical run with 4-6 shields will net me 100-200 Rigogen.

Did I leave any helpful tips out? Add them below!




Sort:  

For what it's worth, I found my water planet in a B planet. These appear Blue in the galactic view and require a special warp reactor.

This gets a bit off topic from purely Rigogen farming, but I selected the planet in this video as my base planet because it allowed quick access, from my base, to both Iron, Rigogen, and Antrium.

For you number crunchers - I began the farming at the 4:00 mark. In the 3:15 from there to the end, I gathered 106 Rigogen.
Instead of performing a full S, I stopped when I reached the midpoint on the return flight, so about 3/4 of the bay was harvested.
Extrapolating, I could have gotten about 135 Rigogen from the bay, in about 4 minutes, with let's say 4 shards.
But this is not 135 * 15 times per hour. Because the bay would be exhausted.

To harvest more, you need to fly to a new harbor and begin the process again, including re-crafting shards.

You can gather it pretty quickly, but I tend to prefer harvesting it one harbor at a time, expecting that yield to be between 100 and 200 Rigogen.

a few pictures might make this guide better

I've had a tough time finding it.....this helped lol

Glad it helped! I remember my first hours of searching. It was quite slow and tedious.

There is a specific subterranean feature that tends to hold a lot of Rigogen. It is like a deep bowl cut into the bottom of the floor. When you see depressions, roughly 200 ? feet across, and maybe 20-30 feet deeper - these oftentimes will contain up to 4 Rigogen. Whenever I see a circular deeper part, I go for it blindly, without seeing Rigogen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84