You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ketogenic Breakfast for the Nomadic Lifestyle

in #nomad7 years ago

I was about to add caprylic acid to my grocery list until I checked into it further...turns out it is a multi-chain triglyceride, and I already have an MCT oil that I am working my way through. I have been working to better understand saturated fats and their impacts on our bodies, so I have been attempting to vary my oils so that I avoid overindulging in a given type as I continue to collect information. Thanks for your recipe!

Sort:  

You're welcome, @thedreamsteem!

Yup, medium-chain triglycerides are the ones that generally trigger ketosis, though Lauric Acid doesnt really act like an MCT in the body, and it's the most abundant.

The other oils in most MCT you can buy at the store trigger intestinal... issues... if you have too much, which is why I stick to just Caprylic Acid.

Here a good article explaining each of the fats and their properties:
https://blog.bulletproof.com/what-is-mct-oil-vs-coconut-oil/

Thanks for the article. I switched to this way of eating due to intestinal distress, so any "issues" are either not occurring at my intake amount or are not anything beyond my typical experience haha. Plus, I have a big bottle to go through, so I will keep it in the mix.

Seems like my MCT oil brand gets good reviews for the carbon chains present, but most of these reviews seems to be at the mercy of self-reporting, so off I go, grain of salt in hand ;)

My first time taking two tablespoons of MCT were... Not enjoyable. Probably the most painful and exhausting few hours of my entire life.

Yikes. I don't know that I have ever put a full tablespoon into a cup of tea/coffee so perhaps I am not a good reference for GI issues. Like I said, I have had my share of those for other reasons so I may not be as aware.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32