You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Visiting the White Sands National Monument

in #nomad6 years ago

Hope to see you next time not too luminous around the nose (like Edward Lear's Dong)! Very informative. Kind of ironic: a whole heap of fertiliser in the middle of the desert. And quite a contradiction in terms: gypsum sand. (calcium/silica). It makes me look at the cosmic map of this placement of gypsum (calcium element). Did it feel very earthing to walk on these "sands" (one of the properties of calcium in the soil)? Although, possibly also disorientating, and more like a highway to heaven.... especially with that sportscar!?? A great place to shoot a commercial?

I am very curious about how solitary or alone "in the world" (probably not lonely) you feel during your travels and whether one landscape makes you feel more so than another (this one felt a bit creepy or at least vastly unprotected, somehow).

Sort:  

Walking barefoot in the gypsum felt comforting, and even now the thought of covering myself in it like a blanket and napping is deeply relaxing.

Being solitary has always been a natural state for me, and I often feel most alone in the company of others. It is not how I'd have things if it were up to me, but it has so far been the way of things. I have not noticed a difference in this when it comes to landscape, though I will place my attention here and see.

As for my luminous nose, I do not share your desire for its disappearance. How else will I seek by lake and shore to find my Jumbly Girl once more?

As I was writing that worry out for your nose, it did occur to me that if anybody would look good in such a nose it would be you. Luminous suits you and on the sands you were quite so - nothing radioactive about it either (yet....).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66