Nomad Life - Ruined Mine in the Nevada Desert

in #nomad6 years ago (edited)


I decided to visit an old abandoned mine in the middle of the Nevada desert rather than rushing to Lake Havasu... I just couldn't resist seeing a piece of mostly forgotten American history.

There are mine shafts all over the place, and the remnants of stone buildings scatter the hillsides. This clearly was a bustling center of activity in the early 1900s.

Cahlen


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Good stuff Cahlen! I really enjoyed this adventure. Looks like a fun spot to camp. Keep at it man, I appreciate your videos.

Thanks @zainenn, glad you enjoyed it!

This is so cool! I went to a mine shaft in Northern Arizona when I was a kid and it was fascinating! It is weird realizing that abandoned places were once so busy with life!

I like to sit in a space and imagine what it was like back when people were moving about doing their business so long ago.

Do you remember where the mine in Arizona was?

How are @cahlen.

I doing well, how are you @muhammadrizki96?

Where is this exactly? I spent several years camping out in the Nevada desert after the financial crash of 2008 (sold my Airstream and was homeless except for an office in Henderson). Nice thing about Nevada is that there was plenty of sunshine to run my internet based software business...

Screen Shot 2018-11-05 at 4.18.12 PM.png

Howdy @zoidsoft! You can find the location and other details here:
https://freecampsites.net/#!15071&query=sitedetails

I'm in a similar boat, though I dropped everything voluntarily. I'm much happier now. I love the photo of your van with the solar panel in the middle of nowhere! Do you have overall fond memories of your time living that way?

Yes, my homelessness was by choice as I always had the option to go back to NY (my fathers farm). I finally went back to NY to keep an eye on my father. I've been through the Great Basin area a couple of times, but I spent most of my time centered around Amargosa to the west and south, but as far north as Black Rock City and as far south as Niland, CA (Slab City).

BTW, your title can be read two ways, "Nomad life - ruined mine..." as in mine as a noun direct object, or "Nomad life - ruined mine" as in mine as the possessive participle of "the nomad life" that got ruined.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79