You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Solar eBike - Initial Build Ideas

in #nomad6 years ago

I'll be using a 54.6v MPPT Charge Controller. It boosts the 19v panels up to the max charge voltage of the battery.

I do think I'm gonna need to use a battery management system to keep the cells charged equally.

Sort:  

That sounds like a sweet Mppt charge controller. I am curious what make and model you use. I have been looking for a good one for my solar rig. The Outback ones are what I am leaning towards but they are pricey.

From everything I have researched about Lithium Ions charging them equally is vital.

Ya, I have an old lithium battery pack I made which doesn't work well anymore due to long term imbalances.

The controller is the Genasun Boost 8.

Oh Wow! That is some really neat technology for a charge controller. Never saw anything like that. So neat!

Yeah I have avoided Lithium Ions for simplicity's sake.

Thanks for the information on the charge controller.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50