Breakfast on Oak Street in Uptown New Orleans

in #nola8 years ago

17190379_10158522361435294_653755241183584026_n.jpg

I have a weekly habit, it's sort of my treat for making it to the end of the work week spent fixing cars, being sweaty, and covered in oil and other vehicular fluids as a Volkswagen mechanic. I walk several blocks to a popular breakfast and brunch spot called Live Oak Cafe on Oak Street. The place, as usual has a crowd of hungry people chatting away with friends and loved ones either waiting to be seated or enjoying one of the delicious options served here. It's small, with a few tables outside to enjoy the cooler morning weather and to help fit just a few more patrons. I'm usually solo and the fellow working the door has started to recognize me, so as I walk up he smiles and nods in acknowledgement and lets me know if there is a seat for one open at the small bar inside. Luck has it for the solo diner that there is almost always a single seat or so open, so I politely make my way past the groups waiting for tables and go take my seat. On this particular morning I was accompanied by my room mate and her boyfriend so we waited for a table with everyone else. They take a phone number let you wonder around looking at other close by shops, when it's your turn they call you and tell you to come on over. After being seated and finally deciding on what to order it can take a little while to get your food but it's hard to be upset seeing how busy they are and well, how damned good the food is. Everyday there is someone playing music of no specific genre to help create a nice ambiance and to distract from the wait. So while my company this morning was chatting away I was listening to the man pictured above play some wonderful southern sounding tunes on an old steel guitar and sing in a rough kind of raspy voice that still managed to sound fantastic despite my description. The coffee is bottomless, the servers are constantly walking around refilling even half empty cups until you beg them to stop or your hands are shaking too much to pic the cup up safely.

Each server is allowed to dress and wear what they want, so each of them has a very distinct and different style, New Orleans wouldn't have it any other way. From hair dyed various hues, to clothing referencing everything from video games to obscure bands, jewelry, and even a fellow with some renaissance style leather pouches and other well worn anachronisms. The customers are as varied as the staff, ranging from well dressed Tulane students, to those who almost look like transients who found bits of mismatched clothing here and there and put an outfit together, but you hardly notice, it's the city, this is how it is.

Finally the food arrives, and after everyone takes a moment to appreciate the abundance of food on their plate and everyone digs in, the next several moments are nothing more than silence broken only by an approving mumble or happy sound signifying just how tasty pretty much everything is. We all try a little bit of what the others ordered, curiosity piqued as to how the banana bread breakfast compares to the strawberry and cream covered pancakes, or how savory the Chorizo eggs Benedict is. Everyone is full, caffeinated, and happy. A great way to start any Saturday or Sunday adventure in New Orleans.

As usual thanks for the read and the view! The picture this time was actually taken using my Samsung S7. If anyone knows an image hosting site that allows me to upload 12mb files, or a clean way to reduce the file size of the images off my Nikon I'd greatly appreciate it! I hope you look forward to more of my little adventures!

-Shane Rowbatham

Sort:  

I suggest you edit your photos using editing software such as irfanview. It is simple editing photo software, you can download it free. Nice !

Thanks, I'll check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62499.32
ETH 2450.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66