Dont Break My nodes!

in #node6 years ago

43541317414_f646ef47e2_o.jpg

Dateline: Gothenburg January 2019

I wake up in the coldness of my hotel room in south west Gothenburg looking out into the cold winter city.
I really want back to the beach and the sun i think quietly for my self while getting dress and starting my laptop.
Everything seems very calm today, some of the traffic on the cryptocurrency creation website (http://createcryptoco.in) seems to have generated some weird errors so i login to the server and check and after some scratching in my head i realize that the service is not working, No more blocks are being published to the blockchain using my geth ethereum node....
Why is this happening ? the Node is responding to http API calls, Maybe autoupdates has downloaded a new library that broke it all? it was working flawless yesterday.
After some detective work in the log files i cant seem to find the problem, i sign on to IRC to search for the awnser,
After 2 hours with downtime and no good luck i notice that the current block is out of date and that the node is not syncing the latest block. I lookup the changes of the ethereums blockchain and yes a new major update is live.
I kill my running node and download the latest version of geth, after a while it starts to sync up and a couple of hours later all is up and running.

This is a huge problem!
Why doesn't it exist a good way to get a notice/email when a update is being sent ?
Why cant just all node publisher provide like a rss feed ? so i can i have it in my morning read?

Thinking back, this is not the first time this has happened it has happened with both my bitcoin and my monero node a while back.

Someone needs to provide a Update notification service for this, Luckily i have contacts that work for a vulnerability management company that provides a similar service where they send out emails when new vulnerabilities and programming libraries gets released/published. I call them up and explain what i need and want and 3 hours later the service is sent into production!

Big thanks Firo Solutions(https://firosolutions.com)!

Right now they support Monero(original monerod), Bitcoin(bitcoind) and Ethereum(geth) nodes.
Check them out and if you know of any blockchain nodes that needs to be added (zcash maybe?) shoot them an email!

At the end of the day i managed to solve the problem and i think i am not alone with having this problem

Sort:  

Hello @stackpointer! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39