You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Mixed-up Feelings on Being a Yoga Teacher

in #nocomfortzone7 years ago

This was lovely to read. As a creative person I definitely can relate to getting tired of always having to “sell” a product that is your heart’s work. I’m also really excited to hear about your journey in yoga, I’ve been considering getting my certificate (I have a lot of thoughts about how movement can be incorporated into physical theatre training and character meditation work for actors). I think I’ll likely do it in the next year or two--do you have any articles or favorite resources to help guide someone in choosing their training program? I’d love to read/hear your thoughts on this since it seems like you’ve built a beautiful practice.

Sort:  

Oh, yoga teacher trainings. That's a whole post in itself. lol! Here's the short version:

  1. Decide what yoga style fits you best. For me, it was Anusara yoga.
  2. Look up training programs and research the heck out of the teachers.
  3. Some teaching programs give you the chance to do a month-long 200hr YTT in a retreat-style setting. These are very nice, if you can find one that works for you (and is affordable). Putting the world on hold while getting your certificate can be a lovely way to do it.
  4. Beware the money machine. Most YTTs are engineered to make money (of course, the teachers definitely deserve to be paid for their work, but some pump out so many teachers it saturates the local yoga world), though most of them are also good programs. I guess my point here is, don't go into teaching yoga thinking it's all pure and it's not about business, like I did. Maybe I've prepped you for that. lol!
  5. Follow your intuition. And, when it comes down to it, even if you don't like some things about your YTT (inevitable), you'll still learn from it all. 💖

If you have more questions, I'm happy to help as I can. I think your idea of incorporating yoga into acting techniques is spot on. Thank you for the lovely comment. Yes, being artistic and trying to let people know your art/book/yoga class/whatever exists can be so tiring. Hang in there! :)

Awesome, thank you for these insights--especially the part about the YTT being a partial money machine. I’ve definitely felt like some programs/studios I attend are more about marketing than actual practice. I’m prepared for the “business” side of things, but also know that my intent is incorporating yoga into what I’m already doing. Will let you know how it goes as I keep researching. This is super helpful! See you around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56949.15
ETH 2401.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33