Sachs xtc 125 32bhp better than government "rules" standard by 20 bhp, and getting even better!

in #nobidbot6 years ago (edited)

191013.JPG


Okay we have 32 bhp now, and a rebuilt engine, what next?


The Sachs XTC is notorious for having soft flimsy front suspension, it flexes way to much and makes the bike unstable around corners at high speed, are we going to have that? hell no we are not, and if I am giving this bike away at the end, I am making sure it is the "best" it can possibly be, there is little point in making a bike do over 100 mph, if it can not do what bikes do best, go around corners almost flat on the deck, it has to lean, and it "has to" stop also.

I have a barn full of motorbikes in various states of repair, and awaiting me to finish them, I also have a whole disused house full of spares, built up in only 4 years would you believe, I am a hoarder, that much I will admit.

I have a spare complete front end (forks, brakes the lot) from a late ish as in 1998 Yamaha tzr 125 rr, and that is what is going on this bike, it marries nicely with the engine as that was also in that bike, it also complements the frame, keeping rake and trail identical to now, only with much better upside down forks, they are stiffer and will not flex at all. The braking will also be improved by a 4 piston caliper as opposed to a 2.

I mocked up the build today, and the bearing on the Yamaha yoke at the bottom is to big, so I am going to make the original xtc yokes fit, by taking 1 mm off the bore on each of the four locating holes tomorrow. Below is the mock up.


P1110319.JPG


I have painted the frame from a simple spray can, it was far in excess of 45c in my paint shop today, so there was no way I was getting suited up to paint this with a spray gun. Below is a photo showing how close this was to not needing any work to marry the original yokes up with the Yamaha forks.


P1110320.JPG


I also painted the swing arm and greased the bearings, also greased the rear suspension links, something that most people never get around to, which leads to them seizing, below is as far as I got before the heat got to me, and starvation set in.


P1110321.JPG


I am hoping to get this done within 1 week, I can do it in 2 days if I must, though I have zero time pressure, so a week it is, Have a superbly pleasant week, I am off for a few cold beers now.


judge-2831353__340.png

Deliberators verdict = not long now before another classic 2t is back on the road, better than it was made even from new.


giphy.gif


upvote follow resteem.png


First image source from here

Sort:  

Looks like the fork swap will make a great improvement on the bike. Glad to see you are being very thorough with the bike for reliability and safety. I like to modify cars for better performance and efficiency etc like you are for bikes. Getting a bit warm there mate enjoy your cold beers.

I read all the reviews I could find on this bike, and all say the same thing, front end way to soft, front brake spongy, so thought it best to make sure it stops as well as goes.
Nice to know you take the same route, brute power with no handling or bad brakes, is a guarantee of a spectacular accident waiting to happen.

I started with a small bottle of cider, very yummy indeed.

Yes and i believe it is safer to have a vehicle that is quick handles and stops then one that is slow and stops. Sometimes having that ability to power out of or maneuver around a situation can be very helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49