How many people does it take to have steemit-land talking about something?

in #no-ideatag8 years ago

So over the last few weeks it seems stemmit people have been discusing some major things. As I'm not really in any of the chat things and just see odd posts I was wondering just how many people are actually driving these discusions?

One I was suprised by was Steemsports and how people (No idea how many) are claiming it's unfair and draining the reward pool.
Are these people a majority?
An even split?
Even close to the number of people who enjoy using Steemsports?

Another issue seems to be voting bots, at first when I came here I found the concept odd but it was accepted here so I accepted it as part of the site. To be honest it's nice for my vote count if they find one of my posts and help build my reputation.

Now I don't really know if these are real issues that a large number of people are talking about as bad things or not.
Steemsports is a popular account that many people vote for, it earns rewards and distributes winnings to many accounts, is this bad?

Is it draining rewards I could be getting?

I'd say no more than any other post could have the possibility of doing. You see I'm just concentrating on my own account and putting out quality posts, or like now just throwing out half formed thoughts to see where they land.
I'm not in competition with other people on steemit to gain a slice of the reward pool, I'm working on building my account and wanting to help build a happy steemworld.

When it comes to drama I'd sooner leave it on Facebook.

One last thought; wibble and wobble need to become tags.

Sort:  

You can make wibble and wobble into tags. If enough people use them, they will also find their way onto the trending tags page ;)

Such under used words, they deserve to trend.

I say the steem sports et al are a way for whales to make more consistent curation rewards. If they could relinquish the obligation to vote but be rewarded for holding money in the system to a comparable yield I think more people would lock up steem in smart contracts.

But a whale vote also adds to the prize pot.
As for curation rewards, I've never looked at them as more than a bonus, I vote for posts I like not to get a slight reward.

But if the whale could decline vote power for rewards it is then calculated from smaller voters. The payouts per day is still the same but less votes are calculated and the highest vote powers are removed. The big steem holders are rewarded proportionally for their nonvote holdings out of the curation pool, in proportion with their holdings' value.

I personally like to see whale votes, until the price of steem rises and so our own personal vote value rises they give a nice bonus, plus it shows they are active on the site.

Interesting points made

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45