Maniac Mansion Sealed // Stick that Hampster in the Microwave, Please // More Wasted Youth

in #nintendo7 years ago

Ebay.JPG

Maniac Mansion

One of my favorite Nintendo games growing up was Maniac Mansion. It was one of the few games I purchased new as a child. I don't really know how to describe the gameplay, though Wikipedia refers to it as a "graphic adventure game." It really plays like a text-based game with better graphics and more involvement with the world. Actually, interacting with the world in unexpected ways--like stealing a pet hampster and sticking it in the microwave. The world is very open, and the gameplay non-linear, allowing for a different experience playing through the game depending on your choices and exploration of the world.
Ebay001-2.JPG

My main gripe about the game actually has little to do with it as I played it originally, but as an adult, the interface, which seemed to be empowering when I played this as a kid, didn't age very well, making for a somewhat clunky and slow experience as an adult.

Still, the game is very fun, oozes with vintage gaming and horror culture, and deserves a place in any collection. Actually, that's what I originally sat down to write about because I've owned two sealed copies of this game in my life. The first sealed copy I paid 19.99 for at Circuit City, immediately opened and played until I beat the game multiple times. The second copy I picked up on eBay (see actual scans above) for $85.00. I later sold it for $140, somewhat reluctantly. That's just the way things go with my collectibles, though. If I try to buy them low and am usually willing to liquidate them if I need the money. There isn't a ton I won't part with, even current game consoles if I lose my interest or need a quick burst of cash.

The game was also made into a television show in the 90s. I've embedded a playlist of the show below.

Thanks for stopping by.

Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52