Training for American Ninja Warrior - Day 8steemCreated with Sketch.



Source

Hey ninjas!

I'm definitely feeling stronger, even just a week in.
I did this same routine about 5 days ago and feel like I crushed it in comparison.



Basically this circuit worked my jumping muscles, my core, my upper body (only slightly) and my grip strength.

The circuit included:

  • 6 slow push ups
  • 8 box jumps
  • Adapted pull ups... I had my feet on the ground, my body at 45 degree angle and would pull myself to standing/90 degrees
  • Assisted pull ups with a band
  • 20 second deadhang
  • 12 calf raises

I did 4 sets this time, and could have done more but the quads were starting to get a bit fatigued and I didn't want to push it too hard, especially considering I've got a ton of running to do tomorrow.





Source

I was way more careful about carpet burns on the elbows this time... the wounds had only just healed up... but I tried to be way more controlled so I wasn't wreaking the skin. It was rough.

I asked my partner to join me for one set since she was distracting me chatting to me, and at the second move she said it was too easy and by the up and downs she was literally screaming. All core strength is so much harder to obtain when you're laughing.



Source



It was kind of a mess, I didn't stick to the intermittent diet thing at all. I'm hoping I've set myself up well for tomorrow, had a huge amount of protein today for that slowburn energy release.



I do think all my rehab for the elbow is working... there was a couple of moments with the assisted pull ups, but I think I got through mostly unscathed. I spend about 30 minutes every night stretching, and doing small elbow exercises, and fingers crossed it's helping the healing process, because, quite frankly, resting wasn't doing much.

That's not to say the resting, heat, stretching approach didn't reduce the swelling to the point where exercises might help, I honestly have no idea, but I think overall it's improving... and that's exciting.



Images created by amazing Steemians Skyleap and Ryivhnn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87