Training for American Ninja Warrior - Day 7steemCreated with Sketch.



Source

Hello hello!
So, ah. it's Day 7 of my training for my American Ninja Warrior. Given that it's my first week of this new training regime, I took yesterday off to recover from all the running and snowboarding.

Also, the lil wooza came back yesterday from 3 weeks in Aus... so I had to do that frantic boy thing of cleaning up and doing all the things I meant to do over the last couple of weeks.

Today really felt like the start of the new year, everyone was back at work, I wasn't a ninja bachelor anymore and I've started a No Junk Food Challenge and restarting the Ab Challenge with my gym buddy... the next 30 days will be super healthy and mega fit... otherwise we have to embarrass ourselves on social media.



Source
NOPE!

Also, I watched the first episode of The Titan Games on Netflix, and, ah, I'm super glad they never called me back.



Source

It's pretty much a strong man competition... everyone on the show has mega muscles, and not so much speed, flexibility, etc. So, ah, not only do I have no interest in any of this... but I wouldn't have lasted long...



Source



I ran my hilly 3.8km 3 times last week.... so why on earth were the soles of my feet hurting when I ran this morning. Why are these guys surprised by these shoes? Weirdos.

I was happy with my 27:33.30 time. Not as fast as Friday, but much better than Monday and Wednesday last week... hopefully I'm steppin' up.



I loved doing my hill sprints today. I'm usually scared of them, especially in the near-freezing cold... but once I started I just super loved it. It was hard, I was breathing super hard, but I just enjoyed the whole crazy experience.



Source



I had to restart my abs thing again to accommodate my friend who wants to do it with me. I love doing challenges with people... we check in with each other every day. I think this is the main reason I've never felt homesick...



Source

I did it much faster than the last time I started. It was still long, still hard and I was super hungry during... but got it done.



A friend had again made my protein coconut ball things, and I ate a few of those for lunch, and then had meat and veg for dinner. The only carbs I had were super high in fibre. Good start to the No Junk Food challenge.



The elbow has been better.... but snowboarding messed it up a bit... all the lugging and falling and general chaos wasn't great for it.. and it was sore yesterday but okay today. There are still really sharp pangs of pain at random points... but they happen slightly less frequently, so that's encouraging. Hopefully I'm on the right track.



Images created by amazing Steemians Skyleap and Ryivhnn

Sort:  

That stuff with your elbow first sounded to me like something might have happened to your tendons but what you reported here seems not to fit into the picture. But I'm just making uneducated guesses.
Give your elbow some rest if possible and maybe some slight cooling after the workout.
Best regards!

Yes, I think it's definitely tendon based... I've seen a number of medical professionals about it and gotten XRays and MRIs, etc. Unfortunately, I've been given some conflicting advice. The physiotherapist thinks that there is minute extreme swelling in the tendons that connect to the elbow... and believes that rest, heat and stretching is the best remedy. The chiropractor believes that the nerves aren't connected properly and I need to retrain the elbow gradually building up to harder exercises to fix it. It's been painful for 8 months... I'm hoping it gets better soon, it's super holding me back.

Good luck with the training!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Mr Talk!

Haha you are the first person to call me Mr. Talk! I like that!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @aussieninja!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.386 which ranks you at #2273 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2275).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #170.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87