Training for American Ninja Warrior - Day 3steemCreated with Sketch.



Source

Hey ninjas!

Rough day today... I'm pretty sore from the previous, ah, 2 days, so I had to tamper my usual thrill of activities and begrudgingly cut back on what I was intending to do. I've been down this road so many times before, and I nearly always get myself in trouble with unrelenting enthusiasm... and then overuse injuries.

Now that I (think I) know more about how the body works... working muscles is the easy part... you load them up, break them down, rest 'em, and go again. Tendons on the other hand require a more subtle approach... you can't increase or decrease your intensity or activities too much, they just don't cope.

So, that said... I did 3 rounds of a circuit instead of my intended 6.



Basically this circuit worked my jumping muscles, my core, my upper body (only slightly) and my grip strength.

The circuit included:

  • 6 slow push ups
  • 8 box jumps
  • Adapted pull ups... I had my feet on the ground, my body at 45 degree angle and would pull myself to standing/90 degrees
  • 20 second deadhang
  • Walking a 50kg kettle bell around for 40 seconds (left hand only)

It didn't take too long, and I really did want to do more... but I've got 362 days to go and no time for injuries.



Ah, again, super hard, super long and a huge test of perseverance.



Source

3 rounds in of 7, and I already had carpet burns on my elbows. The up downs are tough... but no one has ever said a ninja course is easy.



Source



I was pretty hungry this morning, but stayed on the 16:8 intermittent fasting and so didn't eat until midday. I didn't have any leftovers sadly, so pretty much chowed down on a bunch of pecans (super high in fat) and keto beef jerky. Totally hit the spot but so super salty so I've been crazy drinking ever since.

Had a proper protein-y meal at 7pm to tidepod me over until tomorrow.



Didn't really notice the elbow too much today, except for the very slight pull ups... it didn't like one particular angle, and as soon as I changed it was not an issue. I spent some time in the jacuzzi again to work on everything that's sore, and send some heat towards the elbow... and it felt great, and then hurt again as soon as I toweled myself off. Such a douchebow!

I'm off to work on my stretching, elbow rehab and flexibility training. Thanks for reading!



Images created by amazing Steemians Skyleap and Ryivhnn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81