Training for American Ninja Warrior - Day 22


http___prod.static9.net.au___media_2018_07_10_10_35_ANWS2_EP3_BETSYBURNETT_908982.jpg
Source

Hey Ninjas!

Feeling really good today, which is surprising because I absolutely went to town on my legs yesterday. I actually didn't think I'd be able to walk today, but not only was I bouncing around but I think I could have handled a sneaky little jog if I was that way inclined.

Tuesday is upper body day, which is exciting but nerve-wracking. I really want to improve my grip strength and all the ninja hanging muscles, but I don't want to hamper my super-slow recovery of my Climber's Elbow.

I felt sore in the shoulders and back from my little workout on Sunday... so that wasn't ideal... and my left rotator cuff wasn't too amused either. Not really sure what's going on there so I'll have to keep an eye on it all.



Working the shoulders
Source

Some Aussie Ninjas will be in the US in 2 weeks to compete in some comps across the other side of the country. Feeling so much FOMO. I would so love to compete, but I think I'm months and months away from that. Would have also loved to go over just to hang out and support them, but we're totally poor at the moment...

It's tough having friends and goals... take it from me kids, don't do either to yourself... it'll only cause you emotions.



Source



Today was all about arms, back, chest and abs. Lucky guys.



I can definitely feel my climbers elbow during my pull ups with the band. I'm not sure if that's good or bad.
I'm hoping that because I only feel it slightly, and only during that exercise, and I had been doing tons of rehab then maybe it's okay... but I'm sure I didn't feel it like this on other upper body days.

Overall I did:

  • 6 slow push ups
  • 10 Adapted pull ups... I had my feet on the ground, my body at 45 degree angle and would pull myself to standing/90 degrees
  • 6 Assisted pull ups with a band
  • 20 second deadhangs
  • 40 step farmers carry, one hand at a time



I really would highly recommend this routine to anyone. I love how they concentrate on all the different sections of your core. It's extremely well put together.



Source

I do, obviously, feel completely ridiculous doing this workout... so I guess that means it's good for me.



Nothing special diet wise. I'm not thinking about it at all at the moment. Not eating junk, but not following any sort of plan either.



Did some rolling out of my legs last night for the first time in forever... it seemed good, I'm going to have to keep that up I think. For the first time in my life I look forward to the stretching and rehab part of my daily routine. It's not a hassle or a stress, it's just a lovely part of my winding down for bed.



Images created by amazing Steemians Skyleap and Ryivhnn

Sort:  

Aww man, this has been a dream of mine for such a long time! 2016 was the last year I went at it hard, but grip is my main weakness and I couldn't do a pull up to save my life. If I could turn back the clock I would be doing pull-ups and grip strength exercises all day every day as soon as I can walk! Good luck on your journey, I hope you make it on the show!

Me too! I'm pushing 41, and I've been watching the Japanese version of the show before most of the current competitors were even born...

Grip is the hardest to work on, it literally takes a full year just to be okay... and like 3-6 years to actually have a good chance... the good thing is that an entire industry has exploded, so now there are ninja gyms and ninja comps all over the place to have fun in.

Thank you!!

Oh yeah haha I've been so tempted to enroll in one for the longest time. Gotta work on my endurance first before I start up back with the grip thing!

If you're looking for a low-impact way to work on grip strength -- you could check out this rice bucket training. The way of the Iron Fist!

I actually did some of this a few years back when I didn't have any access to climbing gyms or equipment. It actually worked pretty well -- or, at least, I got that "really pumped" feeling in my forearms, without putting a lot of stress on the elbows.


Give it a look -- I'd be keen to hear your thoughts on it. Also -- if I recall correctly -- the video is a bit ridiculous.

You could even experiment with different kinds of rice! Maybe even some couscous!

Guess what?

I've been doing this for the last 21 days! It's part of my nightly rehab routine. I've been rolling out, working on flexibility, stretching, and then rice bucket, rubber band, hammer and squishy ball... all while getting answers wrong on Cash Cab. My partner spends that time on her own stretching. My whole nightly routine takes about 45 minutes now, but it's a great way to wind down...

The rice bucket is definitely the funnest part... my favourite is jabbing my hands in verically and then opening them against the sand... I feel like it works the opposite muscles to all my other gripping work.

Oh nice! I guess I should read some of these Ninja Warrior posts a bit more thoroughly! My bad!


Cash Cab is too hard. I like to wait for high-school level Jeopardy Tournaments.

Nah mate, you're a beaut. I haven't mentioned the rice bucket at all, I've really just said "rehab" without going into detail. I'd much rather us over-idea'ing rather than under idea'ing. How else will we get the good ideas?!?

We're now in a weird spot where we don't know enough for US Cash Cab, but we've been away for too long to be any good at Aussie Cash Cab. We're a people with a cab of cash...

Hi @aussieninja!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.410 which ranks you at #2209 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 2219).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 364 contributions, your post is ranked at #172.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @aussieninja! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8000 comments. Your next target is to reach 8500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72