Training for American Ninja Warrior - Day 14steemCreated with Sketch.



Source

Hey hey!

Legs were super super sore today, which is AOK because I totally ignored them and worked on all the other bits.
I actually did my upper body workout.... and did 3 sets. I felt completely fine and not worked out at all, but I got really hungry, so I left with the intention of coming back to it later..... and then felt my back getting sore as the evening went on. I think stopping when I did was accidentally the right move. Bodies are weird.



Today was all about arms, back, chest abs and definitely no legs.



Source



I was super cautious last week with any grip strength exercises... so this week, I was rightly, far less cautious.
I chucked in my dead hang and was still mega terrible and did single handed farmers carries with a 50kg kettle bell.
I went 40 steps with each hand... and it was crazy tough but my elbow seems to have coped.

Overall I did:

  • 6 slow push ups
  • Adapted pull ups... I had my feet on the ground, my body at 45 degree angle and would pull myself to standing/90 degrees
  • Assisted pull ups with a band
  • 20 second deadhangs
  • 40 step farmers carry, one hand at a time



All I can say about these guys is thank goodness I'm not in a public gym. I feel ridiculous, I look ridiculous, they're crazy hard and counting to 260 is not my best skill. I might have accidentally done 400 because counting while scrunchfacing is so hard.



Source



I ate at 11am today instead of midday, I just got hungry and didn't see the point of waiting... which is not great discipline, but I'll get there. The novelty has definitely worn off and now I need to use actual willpower. That said, I had two meals today both chocablock full of protein and health.



I haven't done any heat treatments the last couple of days, but I've been a stretching monster, which is really helping. I've noticed flexibility in my legs, especially standing and kicking up directly forward... but kicking to the side is still super inflexible... that's the one I actually need to be good at. I imagine it'll take a little longer since it's not a move I have any experience with.

Did all the rehab exercises for my elbow, and I think they're working. It's hard to tell because the exercises themselves irritate it a little... but overall it seems less bothersome. I'm almost at brushing my teeth without pain. Whooo!

I'm going to have to start adding some yoga into my week. I've been really carefully not to go too hard too fast, so I'll gently add it in, maybe a session a week to start.



Images created by amazing Steemians Skyleap and Ryivhnn

Sort:  

I would be happy if at somepoint - at any point in my life - I could do a pullup. You're a BEAST! :)

Hahaha, I'm only a fraction of the beast I want to be... but I'll keep at it.

Pull ups are so much harder for girls than guys... dudes have a lot of their power in their shoulders, whereas girls tend to be comparatively stronger in their legs. For exactly this reason, girls tend to be better rockclimbers. But also... THANKS!!

I guess their training must really be a complex one for me to even try out

Not at all my friend, everyone has to start somewhere. You could definitely attempt the exercises here, especially the ab workout, it's not super complex, and you can always dial it back to a level that you're comfortable with.

Hi @aussieninja!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.401 which ranks you at #2239 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 45 places in the last three days (old rank 2284).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #110.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65