Training for American Ninja Warrior - Day 1steemCreated with Sketch.



Source

Hello hello!
Welcome to Day 1 of training for my American Ninja Warrior application video. My video needs to be amazing... and thusly I need to be amazing in it... but I do have 365 days to get good enough to submit something decent.

Since it's the first of the month, that means:



Each month I'll test myself against a series of actions that I think will be needed for the course. This first one will be the baseline. As per my explanationing post, I want to fit the following areas:

  • [x] Endurance
  • [x] Speed
  • [x] Core Strength
  • [ ] Grip Strength
  • [x] Jumping
  • [x] Balance
  • [x] Flexibility
  • [x] Diet

I won't test myself on diet... although now that I think about it, there is a bod pod so I actually could get a monthly body composition test... I look into it on the weekend.

Grip strength isn't ticked above because of my Climber's Elbow, but hopefully that won't be an issue next month. Once it's sorted I'll add Chin Ups to the monthly tests as well.

Here is how I went today (results are in minutes, seconds, microseconds) :

SectionActivityJan ResultFeb Result
Endurance3.8km hills28:48.03-
Speed400m sprint1:49.08-
CorePlank1:06.48-
CorePushups20-
GripDeadhang00:42.21-
Jumping DistJump191 cm-
Jumping VertJump263 cm-
BalanceSlackline1 cross-
FlexibilitySplits45 cms-

I've got a slackline set up in my Ninja Shed... so I thought a good test would be to see how many times I could go back and forth between the two beams. I haven't used it for months... I crossed once and I was honestly happy I made it that far. I was no chance on the return journey.

I'm not really sure how to test for flexibility, but I'll need to virtually do the side splits for the Spider Jump... so 45cms is how far away from the ground I am.

So, ah, overall not great... but so much room for improvement that I'm actually excited for next month!



Images created by amazing Steemians Skyleap and Ryivhnn

Sort:  

Just asked my daughter about flexibility testing, we’ll do a video for you soon 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

That would be amazingly excellently super incredibly great!
I was going to start researching, there are so many things I don't know like how often, how uncomfortable/intense should it be, etc... but a video from people I know would be so helpful!

Generally for anything you should feel a burn but anything more than that you want to back off a bit otherwise you tear something and then you lose the last month of progress 😆

Going to try a spot with better lighting and less distracting background today, yesterday’s attempt didn’t work too well plus we had inadvertent interruptions, serves us right for trying in a busy area of the house 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45