Nikola Jokic says he'll sign supermax, Michael Malone anticipates Jamal Murray's return as Denver Nuggets' season ends

in #nikola2 years ago

SAN FRANCISCO — After a historic season that could yield a second MVP trophy, Nikola Jokic has said he will sign the biggest supermax contract extension in NBA history with the Denver Nuggets outside this season.

Jokic had 30 points, 19 rebounds and 8 assists in the Nuggets' 5 first-half draws Wednesday night, but they crashed out with a 102-98 loss to the Golden State Warriors.

According to ESPN's Bobby Marx, Jokic is now eligible for a $254 million contract extension for Supermax for five years.

"Of course I want to," said Jokic when asked about a contract extension. "But it's not something I decide. I think if [the offer] is on the table then of course I'll take it because I really like this organization, I like the people who work here. I have a very good relationship with everyone. people from owners to device managers.

The current MVP is recording a historic single season that could result in a second MVP trophy in a row. Jokic, 27, became the first player with 2,000 points, 1,000 rebounds and 500 assists per season. He is also the first to average 25 points, 13 rebounds, and 7 assists per season and the first to lead his team in points, rebounds, assists, steals, blocks, and goals scored per season since steals and blocks became official in 1973 - 74, according to a study by ESPN Stats & Information.

In typical Jokic fashion, the center downplayed his individual success and ended up winning a second MVP trophy in a row.

"I mean, I never dreamed of that," Jokic said of the chance to win a second MVP. "It was definitely something great when it happened. It may be a legacy, my name will always be there.

"But if I don't understand it, I won't die... It would be nice, but if it happens, it will happen."

Despite Jokic's efforts, the Nuggets were sent off for the second year in a row with a heavy loss in the offseason. They were swept away by the Phoenix Suns in the second round of last postseason and have now lost five games in the first round.

Of course, the Nuggets did not have Jamal Murray for both postseasons after leaving ACL surgery, and Michael Porter Jr. missed most of the season after undergoing third back surgery.

"I find it scary to think about it," Denver coach Michael Malone said of adding a healthy Murray and Porter to Jokic's roster. "I'm going back to last season before Jamal's injury in this building. We felt like we had a legitimate chance to win the championship last year. Unfortunately, that's not on our cards... you play without two maximum players, both of whom have helped us out of the first half for the last three years."

Malone confirmed Murray's expectations at the start of next season, when he is expected to play for the first time since an ACL injury on April 12, 2021.

"The future sure is bright," said Malone. “I think we also have to understand that Jamal Murray, who starts the season next year, is not going to be Jamal Murray soon [we know]. I think it will be a meeting, he will feel comfortable and safe there.

"But I [think I understand] during the first two games here, when I came back I couldn't sleep one night. At 3am I saw Jamal's stats in the bubble [in the post-2020 season]. Wow. I know he is good but sometimes you forget how good he is. That's what happened to Jamal, when the stakes were high he went up. He was never scared in that moment. Michael Porter what he did Did 10 playoff games last year, 17 points, six rebounds, which is more important for shot a clip high from the 3-point line. Shoots as much. Jamal and Michael can do it."

Jokic said much is still unknown about the Nuggets, who reached the Western Conference Finals in a postseason bubble in 2020, even after recovering from health.

"We didn't know what to do because we weren't well," said Jokic. "Do we have talent? Yes. can we do something? Maybe. You can see in the league that the team is a great team and it doesn't work, that's how it is.

"I think we have talent. We have players. We have numbers. We have the tools. The only thing is that we will work together. That's the only one. That's the question. You don't know it until you start playing."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44