NihilisticRainbow Satirical Poem Contest #3 - Embrace Endarkment

Satirical Poem Contest # 3 - The New Endarkment


This is my entry to the 3rd edition of @sature 's satirical poem competition. I really enjoyed partaking in the last one, but this time the topic put sweat on my brow, as no idea seemed to rise.
But alas, one sleepless night I was reciting my favorite poems in my head, and realised that the glorious Invictus by W. E. Henley was at the same time about this very topic and it's very contrary. (If you don't know the poem yet, be sure to check it out. It's marvelous.)

So this is my entry, it's a bit of a tongue-in-cheek hommage to this classic of poetry. The I.M. in the title stands for "In Memoriam", one of the original titles of the original. I hope you enjoy it, and I wish you all a dream of Endarkment.

PC235417.JPG

I. M. Endarkment



Organic clothes they cover thee,
you bought them once from an old Pole.
Who thanked you with some herbal tea
And said that it would save your soul.

While madness' grip still circumvents
All the sage you spread about.
Despite the Buddhas at your feet,
Your mind still shouts out oh so loud.

Beyond this place that they call truth
Looms but the calmness of the shade.
And when you seek it, it will soothe
Whatever made you so afraid.

What matters ain't some holy blade
Or your tibetian prayer roll.
You don't need to trust in fate
Endarkment will contain your soul.





If you like what you see, consider upvoting and following me <3

Sort:  

There's an elegance to your verse, and a musicality, that I found enlivening (despite its dark message).

Thanks a lot , this really made my morning :)

Das ist ja mal die geilste Kategorie ever #nihilisticrainbow haha!

I really enjoyed your poem but wouldn't presume to interpret it. Good luck in the contest!

Congratulations @ul1yck1t! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @ul1yck1t! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87