The Philosophy of Showering - My entry for this weeks Nihilisticrainbow satire poetry contest

in #nihilisticrainbow6 years ago (edited)

1490024505873.jpg

I am super happy to be the winner of last weeks #Nihilisticrainbow poetry contest hosted by @sature, with the topic of "How to avoid New Year's obligations"!! So of course I'll be participating this week too, this time the topic is "The Philosophy of Showering". I'm taking a different approach this time and doing it in rhyme, so, here it goes..


Trying my best to think of this as art to keep myself from falling apart
I’m taking a shower
The same damn hour as everyone else in the tower
Seems there must be a shortage of power
No hot water left, I’m a victim of theft

I’m not lying when I say I feel like crying
In mourning of my morning mood, ruined by other morons
It isn’t unreasonable to take this shit personal

Waking up in this way is both painful and unnatural
It feels irresistible to do something irrational
Ice cold water makes me think about slaughter

It’s morbid to have to shower cold
this type of thing is what makes me grow old

My apartment has become the reason for my torment
I’ll refuse to pay rent after this horrible event
Under these conditions I might as well live in a tent

I can’t meditate when I’m so filled with hate
I can’t sleep at night knowing the heating’s not right
Suffering severe PTSD because of cold showers at early hours

Without exaggeration, this is a level of irritation that requires medication
Probably a whole lot of pills
I’m sending the landlord my medical bills

Showering like a caveperson from the ice age has me so enraged
My neighbors will not have to die from old age


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34