My night at the Premier League Darts!

in #nightlife6 years ago

The unplanned, unexpected nights out are often the best.

This story starts in the Laidlaw library at the University of Leeds. After a heavy night-out on Wednesday me and my fellow voyagers decided that tonight would be one of rest, due to the horrendously large consumption of alcohol the previous night.

2018-03-08 14:36:46.464.JPG

However the peaceful night we had envisaged soon took a dramatic turn. But was it for the worst? The phone rang and on the other end was an adventure. Two front row tickets to the Premier League of Darts at the First Direct Arena.

As fellow students will know, finances are not our greatest assets, but for a mere £90 for what could turn out to be a legendary event with the likes of Michael Van Gerwen and Rob Cross at the helm, I could starve myself of the necessities of food and water. In exchange for a claim to fame on TV and a stupid amount of beer. It was settled, me and my compatriot Wes (the fella with the fro) would be attending the darts.

2018-03-08 18:05:09.984.jpg

Our first priority was to secure our fancy dress outfits for the night at LUVYABABES and then shoot over to the Smoke Barbecue to render-vous with our fellow dart goers and secure the golden tickets.

However, we were in for a treat. Unknowingly our tickets (£90) should of been £280! Our meeting point at the Smoke Barbecue was a corporate event with free food and an endless supply of the golden nectar. What a result!

2018-03-08 18:34:34.005.jpg

Oh and did I forget to mention that the corporate event included throwing darts against Eric Bristow, the ultimate legend of the game. Hallelujah! His legendary status preceeded him as he threw a 180 on his first three darts against me and turned round chuckling like the title 'Crafty Cockney' he so well deserves.

2018-03-08 19:58:29.040.jpg

Finally we managed to stumble our way to the darts on our own table to view arguably the greatest sport of all. This was Darts and we were a part of it! Genuinely my mum did think I was at Uni until this photo of me was released on social media to an uproar of "why aren't you in the library?" & "You won't get a first with that productivity."

2018-03-08 20:21:38.897.jpg

Anyways the moral of this story is that the unexpected nights are often the ones of legendary status and if you ever get offered darts tickets last minute you should take them. The atmosphere was nothing like I've ever witnessed before.

Special.

(This post can also be found on the account tomsouthern which was my practice account)

tjsouthern is the official account and all pictures I have taken myself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62497.97
ETH 3335.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47