Hope of a Nigerian Student

in #nigerian7 years ago

My name is Joshua a chemical engineering graduate. it is so difficult to survive as a hardworking, honest and God fearing person here in Nigeria. After my NYSC i have been struggling from place to place, looking for opportunities. i always shuttle from Lagos to Portharcourt...thinking that one day it will be well. i just discovered that it will never be well..

When we were in secondary school we were told to get a good course..my parents were happy when i got chemical engineering..then in school it was get a good result..that was no problem, i got a second class upper.

After service it was get certified..ahh, "no wahala".. i got my NEBOSH certificate..then again some said it was connection..ok, i joined lots of professional whatsapp groups after much work, i even had to pay for some...funny enough the so called professional group failed woefully.

twice i was called for a job brief..twice i was rejected..the first reason was because i am Igbo the woman saw my name and her countenance changed though she dashed me 2k and told me the usual words i would get back to you..ok, fair enough. The second was in Portharcourt i was rejected because
of my church..Roman catholic.. hmmm. A young man was also rejected for same reason he kept on complaining while i was just laughing..though later i begged him for #100 for my TP, he gave me sha.. he is a nice man.

ok. i had to go back to the drawing board..met some people and they said i should just do further courses..oooo! course again, ok.. no wahala. i begged my mum to sell her bike for 110k so i can add 30k and do process safety and loss prevention..she accepted.. i sold the bike and did the course.. yet, no interview call. i said ok let me visit companies and give them the cv..my brother no show.

i sat still again..and then reviewed my cv..paid 2k for push CV to review the cv..still no luck.. downloaded CV review app used it time and time again. same results.. no calls.

the only thing i get everyday is insults from my Father and some relatives of how lazy and weak i am...this is not fair life itself is not fair..is it not better to die? after working hard in school and after school for about 8-10 years no result for it..

People will always say don't be tired but my brother i don tire... i know many of us have same story, but for me the only thing i can do to make the pain easy.. is write..

Nigeria is not worth it.. did i tell you i briefly went into business?.. but how can you do well in business without long time experience.. it is always difficult..well, the pressure is much and i see that breaking point is close... only God knows Tomorrow.

These days the only thing that comes to my mind is suicide..i have downloaded lots of books to see if i can find a solution.. but none yet.. please if you have good advice for me i am willing to hear it.

thanks
E Joshua
#copied from nairaland.
Copyright @ 2017 by Joshua

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80