This thing called Juju

in #nigerian6 years ago

juju.jpg

Yes!
So I was thinking of what to post about today and a barely constructed thought that has been dancing around in my head surfaced.
"JuJu".
JuJu doesn't exist (feel free to oppose with F.A.C.T.S ). I did not say "I don't believe in Juju", I'm saying Juju doesn't exist all together.
Here's why I think JuJu doesn't exists...
It hurts my soul badly and deeply, like you have no idea how pained I am that my ancestors let themselves get colonized. Let themselves get sold into slavery.
Because of their actions or lack of it. I am constantly questioning my blackness. Black people are constantly questioning their Nature. That one thing that makes us unique has been demonized by the failures of our ancestors.
We are suffering the consequences now.
Before I continue, If you didn't know before now, I'm very aware of my blackness and history. Its one thing I can't trade away. I even plan on forcing it down the white mans throat through my art. Stay woke.
What exactly is Juju?.
Yea, we all know that, we've all heard the stories and that's where it ends - Stories.
We heard of how it can make you bullet proof.
How it can make you fly.
How it can strike an entire kingdom with a foul disease.
How it can make you transmorph into any animal.
You can also be invisible, have top notch surveillance with a mirror and it can cure ANY disease.
Juju is amazing on Paper and from mouth.
If It does exist and it's as lethal as we have heard I'm guessing with the introduction of Jesus and his "superior" power(lol), the use of Juju has grown thin and we don't need it anymore. All we do now is pray for our enemies to die and voilá. No incantations needed. The Irony of it all.
What if I say if JuJu exists we would never had gotten colonized by the Arabs or White men.
Let's use the Invasion of the Benin Kingdom as an example.
What happened to the Bullet proofing?, What happened to striking people with madness from an infinite distance?. What happened to turning into wild cats and tearing the colonials limb from limb?. What happened to the Juju men that prophesy and can see the future?, why didn't they see it and plus they had the means to prevent it from happening too.
Benin is known as the power house of Witchcraft in Nigeria, which I say as a joke though, but people actually believe it. Imagine how fierce it would have been 400 years ago. Yet, 'primitive guns' were able to take over their lands. Our lands.
If Juju exists, Nigeria would have the most sophisticated military in our Solar system. I mean 20 million men and women that can transform into fierce bullet/missile proof Wild animals that can teleport, fly, be invincible and see the threat years away from when it would actually happen. And be more than able to stop it.
We can single handedly end world sicknesses.
Russia wouldn't be able to relate.
But the Juju we see and hear of is the one that your aunty sent to your cousin in the UK that got him deported.
Or the one that Nkiru's grandmother used to turn to a cat and scare your brother on his trip to the village. So all of you now killed Nkiru's mother because she practices witchcraft.
Do you see how crazy the Juju idea sounds?
Nollywood has ripped out our consciousness and replaced it with Fantasy.
Also, I won't follow you to Okija shrine or any shrine. Like Bolaji would say "I don't have to be in the shrine for the Juju to affect me".

Image link: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwiLsJKez_nZAhXN1qQKHc-kCxIQjRx6BAgAEAU&url=https%3A%2F%2Fvimeo.com%2Fjujuanimation&psig=AOvVaw3kIXv5NKiEqI71uAX06Cve&ust=1521591212078863

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51