Speaking English As A Nigerian: Showing some Nigerian English blunders.

in #nigeria7 years ago

I'm a Nigerian and English is not my local dialect but we are colonized by the Great Britain making English language to be our official language. Yes, we are taught English language in school but you don't expect every Nigerians to match up with the British in terms of spoken English. Don't get me wrong we speak good English yet we have some setbacks speaking the language.

Incorrect English Spoken By Nigerian

images(2).jpg

credit

Do you know there are some words we wrongly use or say in the English language? Some will say I am s science student, I don't need to know how to speak English or develop my English. But the truth of the matter is we need to brush up our English. In order for us to be respected and alive in our environment.
Imagine if you see a marketer, so speaks to you fluently in good English, how will you feel?
Let's take a look and some errors and the correct usage;

Wrong: tomorrow is the Christian wake keep

Right: tomorrow is the Christian wake


Wrong: I was bitten by the rain.
Right: I was drenched by the rain


Wrong: the sun is too hot
Right: the sun is scorching


Wrong: please expanciate
Right: please expatiate


Wrong: dress for me
Right: adjust for me


Wrong: kerosene is for sale
Right: kerosene is on sale here


Wrong: this place was unkept
Right: this place was left unkempt.


Wrong: congratulation for your exam
Right: congratulation on the success of your exam


Wrong: in accordance to the constitution
Right: in accordance with the constitution


Wrong: I am interested on
Right: I am interested in


Wrong: on the long run
Right: in the long run


Wrong: he clocked 20years today
Right: he turned 20 years today


Wrong: give it a trier
Right: give it a try


Wrong: eject out the disc
Right: eject the disc


Wrong: if you see the way he shouted at me
Right: if you see the way he shouted at me


Wrong: the book is titled
Right: the book is entitled


Wrong: in case of incasity
Right: in case of unforeseen circumstances


Wrong: please for the main time
Right: please in the meantime


Wrong: this chicken change
Right: this chicken feed


Wrong: let's discuss about the issue
Right: let's discuss the issue


Wrong: radionics
Right: an electrical repairer


Wrong: you are a talkative
Right: you are talkative


Wrong: please I want to quickly withdraw from the ATM machine
Right: I want to withdraw from the atm


Wrong: he goes to school every day
Right: he goes to school every day


Wrong: he sent him out
Right: he sents him out


Wrong: buckle up
Right: buckle down


Wrong: I am a choir in my church
Right: I am a member of the choir


Wrong: the gateman of our organization
Right: the gatekeeper of our organization


Wrong: ensure u make me proud
Right: ensure you do me proud


Wrong: birds of the same feathers
Right: birds of a feather flocks together


Wrong: it was an accident
Right: it happened accidentally


Wrong: I don't like drawing water from the well
Right: am so stressed I do not really like fetching water from the well


Wrong: I will branch at your house
Right: I will call by at your house


Wrong: you better stop
Right: you had better stop it


Wrong: why do you dress like that, talk in your shirt
Right: talk your shirt in


Wrong: wonder shall never end
Right: wonder shall never seize


Wrong: I will branch at your house
Right: I will call by at your house


Wrong: I asked after you
Right: I ask for you
( you only ask after a sick person).

I hope we make use of all these things.

Thanks

Sort:  

Congratulations @vhktor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42