SURVIVAL FOOD IN SCHOOL THAT YEAR

in #nigeria6 years ago

Great Minds,
Today I sat down and what came to my mind was the days in school, the good times and rough times in school. Most especially the days of little or no food. Well, my school days was a mixed one, there was periods that I never lacked anything, it was all rosy and the came a period when it was difficult for me so much that to get was by serious struggle, I called that period that year.

Yes it was a particular year, and a particular time we were writing exams, things suddenly became tough no money was coming out from my parents who were very supportive. Well, man must survive and I must finish school the way and manner, so it was time to feign for myself, I started managing and skipping meal just to meet up.

GARRI, SUGAR AND GROUNDNUT
IMG_20180422_125938_906.JPG
(Picture of garri, sugar and groundnut I took today)

There is this wonder food that did the job, it was the survival food. Most Nigerian students who come from a not too well to do family can relate very well.
The food is garri, groundnut and sugar, some may not know what garri means it is gotten from cassava. The meal is prepared by pouring the garri into a plate, put some cubes of sugar and either pour the groundnut into the mixture or eat groundnut after a a spoon of the garri.
This food can last you for a good time and also give you enough strength to carry you till the next day. You can take it even in the night as we read and prepare for exams.

Today as k remember, these things I became so excited and thank God that I survived that year. So I decided to take the food today, I took it today not because no alternative as it was that year but as a remembrance. If you are out there and things are rough with tou, please don't give up it will be over and things will turn out for good for you eventually. Be happy and make the best use of the time available to you now.

Live sweet and praise God

Thank you for reading

Your thoughts are welcomed.

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

GIVING GIRL USE.png

This post have been upvoted and resteemed to my followers as my support to you on this community. Follow @giving-girl for more random support.

I am sorry to hear that you went through some hard times, but so happy to see that you stayed positive and powered through. Love the simplicity of this post!

Really enjoyed reading about this @princeso. although the subject was about hard times, the article gave a real insight into your past hardships and how you overcame them. Thanks for sharing :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71