HOME SWEET HOME

in #nigeria6 years ago

Great Minds,
It's been a while I went home, even the last times I went home, it was always all alone without my family. My two kids were yet to visit village since their born so this Easter my wife suggested we travel to village. First I was surprised because she would never buy the idea before. I tried severally to convince her that we go village but she would not accept. So I was amazed to hear her suggest we travel to village. It became a reality on Friday as we were home live and direct.
IMG_20180331_145154.jpg

The journey was smooth and the road was free. The last time I traveled the road was bad and full of potholes in fact the route to my village was not tarred. Also at certain point in the journey we need to cross a river with boats before one can get to my village.
As we traveled, there were a lot of development and improvement both on the way and in the village. The road is now clean as there were no potholes again. Also they have started building bridge across the river to link my village to the mainland. Meaning in the next few years or thereabouts, we will be able to drive to my home with my car, without having to enter a speed boat or canoe.

The Village was lively with a lot of old faces and lovely people around. I have actually forgotten a lot of family faces due to my long time absence. Even the few times I visited it was just like magic as I was entering I was disappearing back. So I never really observed most of the changes neither did I had time to attend and visit family houses as I did this time.
My wife, my children and I visited most of our family houses to greet our relations in the village. A lot of them too came to visit us in the house to exchange pleasantries. It was a great home coming and a lot of celebrations. Some of our relations came visiting with different items including food items such as periwinkles, oysters and fishes. My children were moving from one hand to the other, everyone in our family home wanted to carry them. They were so excited and it was such fun.

Home delicacies were something else, they were as if I had not tasted such sweet and good food all my life. They were rich and plenty, with different style and ingredients. I ate and ate and got tired, initially I thought I could eat everything but they proved me wrong as they continued to come up with more and more.

My wife was speechless seeing the various foods and the warmth reception. Actually she did not grow up in the village though we are from the same village so somehow the whole thing look new and special in her eyes so she enjoyed the dishes.

My pain was my phone was off and I couldn't take pictures of the whole event. Well we are back to main town and it was a memorable journey.

So much fun that we have decided that at least twice in a year we all will travel to village apart from the ones that any of us can go at any time.

Live sweet and enjoy life.

Thank you for reading

Your thoughts, upvotes and resteem are welcomed.

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Nice kids you've got dear, been a while I also visited home but this Easter brought everyone home, my mum;that have not seen for a year now, my niece, my grandma and alot of them some I can't even remember.
There's actually no place like home
Happy Easter to you

Thanks @emem
Hope you had a lot of fun

Hello, you received an upvote from @steemdunk thanks to @princeso! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

There is nothing like returning to our home and family after being away!

There is no better place like home that's why it is classified as "Home sweet home"
By the way your kids are very cute. @princeso.

Thanks
Hope you do visit home too

Aww. Too bad your phone was off at least we would have seen all those delicious delicacies.

My dear, i was pained.

Thanks

Hope you had a nice time with your family bruv?

Glad that you had a great time with your family! Tho sometimes it would need you to keep away the phone, and be present at the moment. Its worth it! :)

came here to give an upvote from the steemitbloggers family because we all need support for our post.

Stay steeming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50