Amala

in #nigeria7 years ago

My food for today might not be everyones favorite but as a typical yoruba girl that I am I can't let it slide..
AMALA:Àmàlà is a Nigerian food made out of yam and/or cassava flour. Yams are peeled, sliced, cleaned, dried and then blended into a flour, also called elubo. Yams are white in colour but turn brown when dried; this gives àmàlà its colour.àmàlà is a west African food mostly eaten by the yoruba people in nigeria. It could be served with a variety of
ọbẹ (soups), such as ẹfọ , ilá , ewédú, ogbono or gbegiri ( black-eyed beans soup).
TYPES: we have 3 types of amala
1.AMALA ISU (Yam flour):This most common type of àmàlà is derived from yam.Àmàlà isu is made of dried yam; this gives it a black/brownish colour when added to boiling water. Amala is high in carbohydrates and packs a lot of calories.
2.CASSAVA FLOUR (àmàlà láfún)
The second type is àmàlà láfún, made from cassava flour. . Cassava and yam are the most important source of food carbohydrate in Nigeria; Nigeria is the world’s largest producer of cassava.
3.Plantain flour (Amala ogede)
Another type of Amala is elubo ogede . The low carbohydrate level in plantain flour makes it a good food for diabetics and others who need a low-carbohydrate food. Unripe plantain is peeled, dried, and grated into boiling water to become amala ogede, light brown in colour when cooked.

Preparation
The only ingredient needed when making àmàlà is boiling water and one of the types of flour. Once the water has come to a boil, the heat is reduced. The flour is added and stirred until all the water is absorbed. More hot water is added, then the dough is left to simmer for approximately five minutes. [5] Then the dough is kneaded until it has the desired texture. Kneading the dough into a smooth paste is the most difficult part of making àmàlà.

I have probably made Àmàlà one time too many in my life. Àmàlà with plantain flour was one of the few foods my grandma, who was diabetic was allowed to eat. There was a period where I made Àmàlà almost every day for a year. Funny enough, I enjoyed it. I’ve always enjoyed cooking, and for my grandma, that much more. It’s the cleaning up I hate. I’ll cook for 8 hours straight to avoid washing dishes for an hour. I digress.
Amala is relatively difficult to make. It is not like other morsels where you mostly just stir the powder(elubo) into the boiling water and stir and it turns out fine. Eba would be the easiest to make and you can hardly go wrong.truth be told àmàlà requires practice and technique otherwise I pity those that was waiting for it to me ready.na koko(lump)them go chew. I will never forget the first time I made it for my grandma. It was horrible. There were lumps everywhere, and she ate it. She could’ve chosen to throw it away and make a fresh one, but we ate it together. Some memories never leave you.
So here is what àmàlà looks like and how I best like it

image
please don't get carried away with the yummy look o tell me how you like your àmàlà best and don't forget to upvote and resteem thanks. Was unable to add my video can someone please five me info on that for next time?? Thanks in advance

Sort:  

I love to learn about other cultures and foods. Thank you @phunke for sharing your recipe and your story of your Grandmother with diabetes. I followed you.

Thanks following back right away

I love that food

That's the food that signify yorubas, wherever they are, @phunke, you forget to add beans soup to it to complete its collection

Gbegiri is there o

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by phunke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new green bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12