JOY IN ME AS I CELEBRATE MY SWEARING - IN AS A MEMBER OF NATIONAL YOUTH SERVICE CORPS (NYSC) ...Ooh HAPPY DAY

in #nigeria6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180430_120459_672.jpg
IMG_20180430_121900_550.jpg
What a happy day for me it was on Monday 23rd of April, the day I was sworn in as a member of national youths service corp. I was so happy to witness this day. As I woke up around 3.00AM of the faithful day, all my bones and joints were protesting and seriously aching me due to series of parade rehasals we had done for the ceremony, but I knew I had no choice, I took some cornflakes and milk and a few pain reliever pills.

It was the day I was going to put an end to being a Prospective Corp member and become a Gentleman and a Gallant Corp Member.

IMG_20180425_061718_744.jpg
IMG_20180430_120425_303.jpg

After I took my bath and got ready for the day ,i awaited the unbearble routine trumpet call to assemble unto the parade ground.

Finally, at exactly 10.00AM, the trumpet 🎺 was blown and we all came out to the parade ground prepared(I guess I was not the only one exited).
People were snapping so many selfie pictures with their phones already to be sworn in as :Gentlemen Corp members.

We stood practicing the final : AT EASE! AT ATTENTION! AT EASE!! AT ATTENTION!! under the sun for hours waiting for the Governor of Edo State ; His Excellency Mr. Godwin Obaseki to come so that the ceremony could start .
IMG_20180430_121920_375.jpg

The moral in the air started getting low in us as people were getting tired of standing under the hot sun .

I started Praying silently that Lord, please wherever The Governor is, hasten his foot steps. I so much wished I could fake a fainting so that the Red Cross personnel would take me to the clinic to sleep off this Swearing-in nonsense.

All of a sudden there was commotion, soldiers were standing at attention, NYSC officials were running towards the gate. Lo and behold, it was the Governor. I was so excited that God has listened to and answered my prayer ,at last we could start.

Me: Thank you Jesus for answering my prayer. It was a privilege to meet the Edo State Governor

The Overseer Parade Commander began the parade, giving different commands here and there (lol) 😂, getting permission from the State Governor and give a report of the total number of corp members registered and present on the parade ground.

After what seemed like forever, the governor presented a speech, encouraged us to be good citizens of Nigeria and promised his administration will be committed to giving priority to the welfare of youths, especially corps members through the provision of an enabling environment needed for their potentials to be harnessed and used for the greater good of the country.

It was time for the Swearing-in~Oath taking ceremony and was that was led by the Chief Judge of the state.
I repeated everything said, except where it's stated that WE SWEAR TO PAY THE ULTIMATE PRICE and i was like what!?? ULTIMATE PRICE!? Hmmm.(I'll have to think over that one)lol

THE FUN PART OF THE CEREMONY

At last we reached the fun part of the ceremony, where the parade commandant gave the command: "we remove headdress! remove headdress!"
Three happy cheers was given to the Executive Governor of Edo State, Mr Obasenge,
"Hip Hip Hip....................Hurray
Hip Hip Hip ...................Hurray
Hip HipHip .....................Hurray
we replace headdress...replace head-dress."
The waa joy, laughter ,happiness and a strong spirit of patriotism in the air.
IMG_20180430_120333_833.jpg

I FELT PROUD TO BE A NIGERIAN. Though we grumble , though we stumble ,but we stand together and that's what matters.

The two important anthems in every NYSC orientation camp were taken which includes The National Anthem and the National Youth Service ANTHEM.
In my next post will contain the lyrics Of the anthem for all you interested steemians out there.

NOW AS A GENTLEMAN CORP MEMBER ;

IMG_20180425_062409_340.jpg

The swearing ceremony turned out to be a beautiful day i just had to remove the memory of 4hours standing "UNDER THE HOT ☀ ".

The ceremony came to an end as the parade commandant asked the permission to dismiss the parade, and the parade was dismissed after the state Governor took his leave .

At 4.00PM those Soldiers didn't spare us, they still called us out for drills. Uuggghhhh #RedAngryFace. .

I Wanted to go back home again #tearsoftiredness.

But all in all I am now a bonafide corp member, HALLELUJAH!!!

IMG_20180430_120442_552.jpg

More story coming soon.... Stay tuned... I am @omotara report from Edo state nysc orientation camp.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71