Day 29: 100days Steemit School of Poetry

in #nigeria6 years ago

It's Day 29 of 100days Steemit School of Poetry and it's been fun thanks to @d-pend

You can learn about poetry on discord by joined the discord channel here

Topic: Body Language

time-3218127__480.png

Looking at myself now,
I am not sure that I recognize
any piece of who
I used to be.

Our cells are constantly
replenishing and replacing,
and technically speaking,
I am not at all
the person I once was.

I understand that I
am a collection of my experiences
and that everything I have
done has led me to this moment.
I do not know what has come of
the choices I
made opposing this.

The patches of my skin
that only said yes
when they meant it have
peeled away and are
replaced by the fresh
tissue of compliance.

If I am
the sum of my experiences
then why are there no
scars on my thighs from
the times I smiled?
If I am
the sum of all of my experiences
then why is there
a fracture in my arm from
anger but not from love?

If I am really
the sum of all of my
experiences then
why does my body
only show my regrets?

image

all images are from pixabay

THANKS FOR READING

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Is this a specific style of poem? If so what are the “rules”?

No particular style.

Before the challenge started.. We stated our intentions and we were chosen

It will last for 100days
No major rules... Just poem and use minimum of 2photos

Join the discord channel
Attend online classes..... You will gain alot from the classes

Have you used or do you plan to use any of your own photos?

No now towards the end, 😉

Had it in mind

yup , we aren't the people we use to be, that baby we were no longer exist.
interesting piece, confusing at times but interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67