ABOUT 2.55% OF THE WORLD'S POPULATION ARE NIGERIANS.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nigeria7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians.  I am from Nigeria and  a patriotic Nigerian, despite all our challenges. In my curiosity  this evening, I wanted to know what percentage of the world Nigerians constitute.  My discovery was quite interesting.

According to worldometers.info, Nigeria's population is now 190,865,816 (almost 200 million people)and the world's population stands at 7,498,919,800 (almost 7.5 billion people).  Mind you, these numbers change very quickly due to number of births and deaths. When I performed the mathematics, 190,865,816 /7,498,919,800 *100%, I got 2.545 which is about 2.55%. 

Nigeria is  truly blessed with large human resources for development. 


Follow me on steemit :@maryfavour .


Sort:  

What is traditional Nigerian food? I like Ethiopian food, the steamed flat bread and different curried veggies and meat. Quite delicious. How is yours same or different? I would love to see some posts of Nigerian home cooked meals.

Welcome to Steemit. Following you.

Thank you, @solarguy for your wonderful comments. Wow ! It's good to know that you have tried Ethiopian cuisine and love it. I would like to try it too when I have the opportunity to. Nigeria cuisine is quite different from Ethiopia's. Nigeris is a very multi-ethnic country having about 250 ethnic groups, each speaking her unique local /indegenous language. Each of these ethnic groups have their own traditional food. I am from Esan tribe in Edo State (South-West), Nigeria https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Esan_people . The staple food in my place is Yam. We use this yam to prepare 'pounded yam' and usually eat this with 'ogbono soup' (locally called omo ohiele). 'Ogbono' is a specie of wild mango that grows abundantly in Esan land. From Illushi, our people get fresh fish, which we use in preparing 'ogbono soup'. Generally in Nigeria, we love rice, grow rice and eat a lots of rice.

I appreciate the warm welcome to steemit. Thanks for the follow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66