Do we have a Future? Nigeria

in #nigeria6 years ago

I pledge to Nigeria my country, to be faithful, loyal and honest.

This is the first line of our national pledge and yeah let me start by honestly telling you what the future holds. NOTHING!

The week has been one of frustration and confusion for me as for the very first time in my life, I'm faced with a situation I do not have a solution to. For me this is unfamiliar territory as if I'm asked "what's the way forward" I'd probably just stare like a man who has just witnessed an armed robbery. That's the part that scares me the most. For the first time in almost forever In the history of Nigeria our future looks Bliq.

image

image source

They say if you can't beat them you should probably join them, but I'm hell not joining in destroying the future for my kids. I'll keep writing and keep talking, hoping that counts for something. At some point I'm forced to believe these politicians real mission is not just to loot this country "Nigeria" for all its worth, but to outrightly destroy it. In as much as I do not want to believe what's happening right now in this country, we as well can't argue with facts especially when its glaring in our faces.

I'm so sorry if you are reading this writing because I'll be engaging your mind on what i call a journey of no return, I'd probably just stop writing when I get tired and when your done reading you'd be like "what the hell was he taking about". What can I say, steemit is more like my safe haven.

It now happens like magic before our very eyes that we see them do the abracadabra with the politics and we sit and watch with so much amusement. Africa magic isn't enough to entertain us anymore, the news now does that effortlessly.


#### We deserve better than this.

we deserve a fair democracy where the people have power over decisions made and Are not just mere puppets in the hands of the puppet masters (politicians). we deserve more than the leaders they impose on us and we have no power to do nothing. we deserve more than lies...

They said said democracy is a Government for the people, by the people but well I think the people has been made crazy by the government so democracy has now become a sheer demostration-of-craze. There's no better explanation for now.

Well normally I'd end by saying I believe in Nigeria and in Africa. But as it stands now I don't know what to believe anymore. I wish there was something I could say to you reading to reassure you of the future but take this from me, there's no future here. So you can trash your hopes and maybe get a visa to another country, maybe America, south Africa, Congo, England, Ghana just anywhere but here. I'm sorry to say but Nigeria is Our own Hell On Earth.

Did I forget to mention that we are at the brim of another recession?

@josefpius handwriting

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05