OSUN DECIDES: MY PARTICIPATION : A GOOD WAY TO END MY POLITICAL APATHY.

in #nigeria6 years ago (edited)

Participating in an election is not really my thing. Have maintained my political aparthy for some time. My thought about election has always been about the risk of vandalism during voting exercise which could lead to injury or more than that. Also, the fact that 'does my vote really count?'. This has always been the way I view election but this time around, it's a different thing. Screenshot_20180923-034512.png
[Live from TVC "Screen shot as they announce votes"]

We are on a long vacation and staying home is the thing during vacations here. Have been home for some weeks until my in-law(sister's husband) called and asked me to come over and stay with them for some days. Days, was what I planned for and as of now, it's been more than that. During my stay with them, I've learnt many things and experienced a lot including going for press conferences and also attending meetings and meeting dignitaries. As I didn't register in the state, am not eligible to vote during their governorship election. I couldn't vote, but I participated and I can refer my participation as an experience worth telling.
IMG_20180923_013852_1.jpg
Whenever an election is about to commence, each party will make preparation for a SITUATION OFFICE. This is the office that receives all information going on during the election process including :

•number of voters who turned up to support the party

•how the security Reps are handling the process

•what each voting joints requires

•is the security there sufficient?

•the number of votes the party has in that jurisdiction.

•issue of malpractice

Along many other information that needs to be attended to before being passed to the bosses at the top for immediate attendance.
IMG_20180923_013938_2.jpg

The situation office is located at a far away place from all polling units. All information regarding the party's situation during the election will be directed to the situation office. I was at the APC's situation office. At the situation office, at first, it started like we were just there to watch the election process then the watch clocks 2pm and that's when the calls started coming in big and we're also making numerous calls to other handlers or ward officers. Though little calls have been coming in before that time and attendance have been directed towards them with full force. We were given a time(2pm) to start getting information ourselves and stop waiting for the calls to come in. It was an interesting experience as I was able to talk to many people, around 100 different persons and each person with his complaints. I have to jot down these complaints and place them to the boss. While doing that , another call will come in, will have to attend to that person and in the process another call will come in again. It was a non- ending process. I almost go t confused and I was later frustrated.

IMG_20180923_065638_8.jpg

I got frustrated and was really fed up. I kind of lashed out at someone unknowingly. But apologized. The participation I thought was interesting is now turning into the opposite. Well, we finished that but, I was in the same room for 36 hours. I mean, That's a hell of a participation. Now I know what customer care representatives for telecommunication companies go through. It's not easy at all. As of this writing, the election votes are being counted and about 26 local governments have been counted as well. Still waiting for the remaining 5 other local governments. OSUN is deciding today. Am so happy I was a part of something to change the society for better. My first optical participation and it was A GOOD WAY TO START. But looking at the party situation room I was in, I can tell you APC won. Am certain of that.

To all Nigerians out there ,don't miss out on the 2019 president election,Do something to participate, You might be an element of change
.

Vote the right man for the job come 2019
.

NIGERIA OUR FATHER LAND

[Took all those pics myself]

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, community, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.

If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Shares - Curation Service

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80