My Journey So Far on Steemit + Steemit Delta Christmas Meetup, Steem in the Air

in #nigeria7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!!

It's a beautiful morning here in Nigeria. My journey on steemit started a few months ago and I can tell you it hasn't been easy, but with the support of my mentors and teachers I've been able to get through the journey smoothly. At first, when I joined steemit a lot of things left me confused but the admins on our africanunchained group were always there to help out.

How it all Started

I first heard of steemit in August from a friend, when I asked him, what's the latest way to earn cash now because we have been partners in some ponzi schemes, then he said "Steemit". I registered and waited for my password but after some days without the password I forgot about it. Towards the ending of September I saw an announcement by the same guy (@valchiz), this time a whatsapp group was attached to the announcement, so I joined the group where i was welcomed by the africanunchained community with @destinysaid and @edumurphy as leaders.

We (me and other newbies) were given a series of lectures on how steemit works, various terminologies we'll come across, steemit etiquette and best methods to adopt in writing quality contents. Initially, it was all about the cash but with lessons I got from my mentors my perspective towards steemit changed. Many of us who joined the group at the same time have left because they were looking for quick cash, which steemit doesn't offer, you have to grow with community while the cash comes. I came for the cash but right now I'm staying for the community.


Steemit has really taught me a lot. The people in this community are all talented each having his/her own unique way in contributing to the growth and expansion of the community. Bringing up innovative ideas everyday which in turns gives us more information about things happening in the world. On a normal day, we won't go searching for those topics to read but here on steemit you get to read stuffs that instill in us more knowledge.

I have also learnt to make friends because that's the only way you survive in a community. Friends who will add value to your life, giving you every necessary support you need. Steemit is a great community and I'm happy to be apart of it.

Steemit Delta Meetup

U5dshaZosmPHUKRaPdzrHzX9aJ22BtS_640x480.jpg

Its the time of the year where people visit their family and friends to celebrate. This time steemians from Delta will be meeting to start the celebration of christmas with lots of gifts coming their way.

The meet up is scheduled to hold on 20th December, 2017. Organised by @destinysaid, a great steemian who has the african community at heart which brought about the creation of Africanunchained project, his lessons on steemit and the Africanunchained group has really kept me going. He has groomed a lot of steemians and shown us the way things are done.

DQmZiewxREgemdJ2yCb7H4CxQjRSe3YWzcjxXq2eDmW9iiZ.png

Also, co-sponsored by @tojukaka another Nigerian steemian with a good heart. I haven't had a chance to talk to him but I've heard a lot of good things about him.

So if you stay in Delta and Benin environs you are highly welcomed to this meet up. Gate fee is free and you get to enjoy free wifi while you steem away and also a lot of goodies for christmas 🎄 will be available at the venue. I would have loved to be there because a lot of steemians I would love to see will be present,I stay in Benin but due to some commitments I will be missing it. I have missed a lot of meet-up's but God willing next year I won't be missing any meet-up especially Steemit in Nigeria.

Come one, come all. Let's keep the steemit flag high where ever we go.

Thanks for reading, have a blessed week ahead.

IMG-20171013-WA0010.jpg

‪+234 905 486 9717‬ 20170927_212044.jpg

Africa unchained post promotion 20171001_195542.jpg
Africanunchained

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83