Steemit in Nigeria

in #nigeria7 years ago (edited)

I discovered that I use more time on Steemit than I do on Facebook. I feel like I’m inside a smaller world, and one which is not constantly trying to get my phone number or data. I also like that you don’t have to use your real name in Steemit. You’re not forced to reveal your true identity. This is how it was in the early days of the internet and I liked having the choice to use a pseudonym - STELLA ).

the above were the same thing I felt sometimes ago.

Imagine if you had the opportunity to speak directly with Zuckerberg about future features and the kinds of tools that were going to be implemented on facebook. Wouldn’t that be bizarre to be included in the conversation?
IMG_20170929_194617.jpg
Well, in Steemit, it’s normal for users to voice their opinion, point out flaws, suggest alternative ideas and come up with solutions to problems that arise within Steemit. There is a self-governance aspect of Steemit that is entirely missing in Facebook. When I’m in Facebook, I get the overwhelming thoughts of being like a Kindergartner and being served lollipops for lunch, (being spoiled with new features that I really don’t need). When I’m in Steemit, I feel the pressure to think of ideas and to contribute.

There’s a consciousness component that exists in Steemit that is entirely absent in Facebook. But there’s also a struggle, like a Darwinian survival of the fittest game that can turn people off very quickly.

I will not take for granted all the futuristic technology that was built for users in Steemit.

I see it as an investment both in time and money. For me, time is money, so every day I have to figure out where my energy will go to create money. Right now Steemit continues to teach me new things so I remain there..

The wallet within Steemit is also revolutionary. I can send digital money (Steem) to anyone across the globe and it arrives almost immediately without fees. When is the last time you tried to send money to your friend in Kenya? You probably had to pay a big fee to do that. In Steemit, you can send digital money to literally anyone, anywhere on earth without fees in a matter of seconds. Sounds crazy doesn’t it? I’ve grown completely accustomed to this for months of using it. But it took the developer of this technology years to create it. We can’t see the toil and the headaches inside the wallet technology because it works flawlessly.

I’ve witnessed how some programmers help out younger students who are just learning to code, and this attribute specifically will help upcoming programmers, The other aspect of Steemit is the fact that there’s a strong developers community contained within it. I’ve learned a huge amount of new information that I doubt I could get anywhere else. All of this is taking place on the blog pages of Steemit and I’ve never seen this kind of thing happen on Facebook before.

I’m not going to sugarcoat that reality. Ive heard a Nigerian content creator friend that use to say, i blog because i love it and just can’t help myself, and I told him back then, dont give up pretty quickly, you will get reward someday whether you like it or not.

Personally I write and create stuff because I just cannot help it. It’s like a disease for me. Sometimes I spend hours on creating a video that only a handful of people even bother to watch on my youtube channel. That’s frustrating.

I have a lot to say and a lot of videos to make and I am a nigerian. I feel like I’m just getting started. The fact that I never had to go to a job interview and yet I’m able to turn my creative energies into digital cash is a dream that I cannot let go of. I think it has taken me months to really appreciate and understand better what the underlying technology of Steem is and what it could potentially change in the future of the Nigerian content creators.

There really is a feeling of satisfaction in being able to see the numbers go up whenever I upvote a content, because when I upvote other people’s posts, I can see the numbers go up for their rewards.

All this been said, I have only discovered this secrets myself, so I am really looking forward to learn new things alongside my friends about steemit at the steemit in Nigeria event.
I also believe that this event will create awareness for Nigerians

Sort:  

Congratulations @eversmile! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69