Stories That Touches-The Nigerian Chronicles

in #nigeria6 years ago

images.jpg
I have a very brilliant friend, we've been acquainted for about 7 years. He is VERY brilliant. He applied for Military service in Nigeria. He was an extreme lover of Nigeria, his philosophy about life was worthy of emulation. I liked him a lot, though he was younger than me, I respected him like a superior because he was wise beyond his years. I silently wished that he was accepted into the Military because I believed he will be a positive influence. My friend was rejected. I felt sad. I was also refused entry into the military about a decade ago, but I didn't feel as sad as I did when my friend was rejected. I knew Nigeria lost a good citizen.
.
My friend left Nigeria and joined the US Military. Americans are exploring and exploiting his brains as we speak. Trust me, the guy has brains. He is doing very well in the US Military. I still feed sad each time I remember that my friend is useful to the Americans and not Nigerians. I imagine if Nigeria was to go to war with the US and my friend is on the side of the enemy, I can only imagine our doom. My other friend was also rejected by the military. He is also very brilliant, and it so happens that he's grounded in Peace studies, conflict resolution and international relations/history, but then, he's not good enough for the Nigerian Military because he doesn't know the right people.
.
How long shall we continue to lose the best things we have?. At least 1 medical doctor leaves Nigeria daily. Pastors will continue to thrive because they are the only ones available to heal the sick. There are Nigerian genuises who have the solutions to our numerous problems, but they are wasting away. The FBI and CIA actively 'head hunts', they go out in search of brains to fill their ranks. The Nigerian Military has NEVER came to my University to poach the best students, I'm sure they didn't visit your University either. A lot of things are wrong with the recruitment process of our security agencies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87