My life as a producer #3 & enrouth to Lagos Day 1 : The long distances, luck or higher power!

in #nigeria7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians

Its been a long while since I posted anything on steemit, so long infact that people started asking me questions on whatsapp if i was ok. I thank the group members for thinking about me and my health, i thank the steemit community for spiritually calling me back to the fold. The life I live outside of steemit ought to be integrated into the life I live on here.

I traveled on Friday the 28th of September, and since then there's been one turn over the other.

17 17 AudioLab

Screenshot (358).png
I have been working and learning with a group known as 17-17 .

pioneered by dr santi, a real life doctor and an excellent mixing engineer. Since 2015, he has been a founding member of a group which lists some of the finest music producers in Nigeria.

From mr altims the mavin producer, to suka sounds and 17-17 mixmaster.

From mikkyme the producer of most of brymo's song, to SAWPS on the mix,

From Puffy T the eleko crooner, sossick, oga tiwadara, suddensmoke, and finally, the boss of them all,

Exodtowncryer aka mr exo. if you've heard together in love in MTN adverts or better me, you've heard him .

Screenshot (386).png

Screenshot (385).png

better than.jpg




Road to inspire

When I was little the talks of success and growth were never far from my ears. My mama used to always say that a man doesn't fail unless he stops trying, unless breath leaves his/her body, a man had no reason to quit. I grew up with this doctrine and it has helped me ever since.

So on the 28th I left Ile-ife around 10am in the morning, knowing that my journey was gonna be a short one, afterall i was going to Lagos. Half way through however, I had to stop at Ibadan, reason being because the bus had malfunctions and we had to get in another bus.

I had to rendezvous with @suddensmoke who i introduced to steemit and is supposed to make a post by now in Ajah and from there we headed to Ikotun to meet up with another producer named JAE.

IMG_20170929_124204.jpg
A church had a campaign down the road, on the way to Lagos

I spent a lot of time on the road on that day, my phone giving up on me immediately we got to Lagos around 3 in the afternoon.

I then had to find my way from Berger to Oshodi, before finding a bus from Oshodi to Ajah.

All things considered, and if you've lived in Lagos you'll understand, I got to Ajah around 8 in the evening, all sweaty and tired and tensed!.

road to inspire Like I started with, nothing stopped me from going to Ajegunle to meet my aunt or stopping at Berger and resting there with my cousins them. But, I know what I wanted and what I was going to gain. I had literally nothing left on me, and to be honest, @suddensmoke paid for most of my transport fare after I landed In Ajah.

ajah 1 gbera!.jpg
that there is suddensmoke, mad producer by the way, and my black charcoal face:(

Screenshot (387).png
dont let this fool you, Lagos will eat you up and make you sit in traffic for 8 hours

Day 2, on to mikky me

The next day, It had to be an emergency run from Ajah to Ikotun to meet up with JAE baba. . . another mad mixing engineer
IMG_20170930_120244.jpg
don't mind suddensmoke, he's a crazy dude, he wont stop that grin that resembles close up advert, JAE at the back yo

We stayed with JAE for a few hours, collecting and updating our plugins collection before running to mikkyme's sound factory(can be found on google map by the way) where the masterclass was holding.

Producers from all parts of Nigeria came to grace the occasion, but unfortunately bosses like Dr santi, altims where not around.

The class lasted from 12 till about 6 in the evening where we all dispersed. All in all it was a memorable time.
IMG_20170930_144334.jpg

If I have time 'ill upload the video that was recorded at the venue of the masterclass, just like i did the last one.
I wanna thank all these bros for having me, the question and answer sessions were particularly interesting.The video would show a lot of things to be honest.



Congratulations! If youve made it this far, youre one of the few who read through the whole thing, . . . or you just scrolled to the end. Either way, im giving out 10,8,7 SBD in that order, to 3lucky participants as part of my 800 followers celebration.

Here's what you need to do.
Write for me, in less than 300 words, in the comment section below, what being african means to you.

See, simply and to the point.

Best answer gets 10 SBD
2nd best gets 8 SBD
3rd best gets 7 SBD

The only rules are that you should place it;

In the comments


The winner will be announced by Monday evening!

Goodluck, and goodnight Nigeria!

Sort:  

Oga @destinysaid Pele o, sorry about the Lagos stress. I'm glad you enjoyed your journey and classes.

My Entry: What being African means to me
Africa is love, that perfect reminder of who I am and Africa is the only place I can call home, no replacements. I am African and proudly one. Africa, the land of uncertainty but yet filled and flowing with milk and honey.

Being African means I am born strong, brave like a lion, attempting to be wise like King Solomon(if you no wise, them go chop you), and showcase my beauty like a peacock. It took a while to become aware of these. Being African reminds me that I strive for greatness and nothing is served to you on a platter of gold especially when you are born with a wooden spoon.

History has told us how Africa has paved the way for the world. Great civilisations like Egypt, Askum and Mali made their impact in the world, and today African nations are still soaring high. Great minds have come from Africa and their legacies are there for the world to follow. Great people like Wangari Maathai, Nelson Mandela, Haile Selassie, Kwame Nkrumah, Chinua Achebe, Wole Soyinka amongst others.

I, being African means, I have a lot to offer to the world. I shall face challenges without fear, be a pioneer of novel ideas, an ambassador for peace and Africa where ever I go.

An African is the salt of the earth and the light of the world.

Mehn I love this, nice work bro

Welcome back boss. I greet you.

What being Africa means to me! Being African first, is a privilege. You don't choose where to go when coming to this world but God send you to the world you belong. I belong in this part of the world (Africa).


For me Africa is a home for the homeless. A place where you might not need visa to go to and live your life. Our lands full with milk and honey.
A place where our system of government is corruption and embezzlement. A place where witches suck blood instead of the white witches who suck dollars or Euro or pounds sterling.
My fatherland, the land with plenty honeycomb. In Africa we have all the minerals and goodies to make our life worth more than the whites but the truth is we are truly black, black outside and black inside.
The only thing we need is to put our differences aside and be United. Unity is the soul of AMERICA AND UNITED KINGDOM. Without unity, we can't build the best world for ourselves.
I remember a story in the Bible, where they unite and build the tallest building in the world, if God didn't scatter their languages, they would have succeeded in building to heaven.
I love my continent (Africa). AFRICA is my fatherland, Nigeria is my country oooooooooo. GOD bless Africa, God bless @destinysaid, God bless me, God bless steemit, God bless Nigeria and God bless you all steemians.

Plenty honey is indeed available, only the queen tries to hoard it all.

Production brings about creativity nice one boss

@destinysaid on the beat, make i talk my own mind,

I be black man from Africa and
Original Africa man na black, and black na Original.
After asia na Africa big pass for dis world.
Africa no dey play with dia culture.
Africa na pipu wey believ juju dey, and na dem still go church pass.
Africa political system na wayo but we still dey survive am.
wetin fit kill one africa man fit kill two oyibo man.
Inside Africa na Nigeria be the Giant.
And na Nigeria my mama and papa come from, so i get right well-well for Africa.
So if u be Nigeria you be Original Africa man, no fear.
As Nigeria no dey carry last
Any place wey u go for dis world if you no see any Nigeria man dia, just run for your life ooo.
Make i stop for here

If you be nigeria you be original Africa man.

Korrect pidgin man don land, I gbadun your style.

@destinysaid i thank you oooo. i see your rojar

Well, first I must praise God for the success of your journey bro, we thank God to have you back in here!

Now, coming to your question: what does being an African mean to me?

First of all, allow me to appreciate God for bringing to this beautiful continent, being an African mean a whole lot to me, it means I'm a born hustler, we Africans are born to succeed even in hard times (if we keep pushing). I hear people say they don't wanna be in this planet, they fancy America and Europe, asking God why they were brought here in the first place... But hey, no American has come in here and regretted it, just like my friends comment above which noted that others think we are apes, bush animals and so.. I tell you bro, only those who never step their feet in here says those crap, I've heard series of so many Europeans who comes to settle down here and even get married to black men.. That is cool!

They suddenly get used to culture and all that, Africa is all about culture and respect, being an African mean you were able to take series of strict instructions at young age, being an African mean you were able to overcome several obstacles on your way to success (if at all you're successful).

So many factors, whoever that grow up from Africa is to be considered a winner, a conqueror, a strong minded. For Africa isn't a place of the weak minded, no no no, I'm not saying Africa is a tough place to be. No!

All I'm saying is Africa is one hell of a place to experience at least once in a lifetime for everybody around the world.

All I'm saying is Africa is one hell of a place to experience at least once in a lifetime for everybody around the world

exactly brother voski, (lol, sounds so russian)

I tell every foreigner I meet that im african and proud of it! I also invite them over whenever I have the chance.

Thanks for dropping by bro

Sure, you got me

Welcome back, boss like a friend!

what being african means to me.

Well, I must confess that me being an african at times doesn't please me because of the situation in that part of the world(africa). But at the same time I still remain happy, because being an african helps me to understand the truth and some logical steps that governs the world and speaks of success.

In the mean time, being an african makes me think I could be among those that would make the continent africa a better place for #humanity.

Whenever I think what good africans can offer then I realize the best being I can become and the greater grace that abounds in africa.

Yeah, being an african is not just being black, But being black but yet with a white #brain!

Will forever love being an african and am really sure my seeds dreams is to be an **african! **

white brain ke? you wan bleach am?

nice response mr tezzmax, I appreciate you dropping by

lol, make I come bleach yah own first o

@destiny never knew you reside at ajah where in ajah i think i need to pay you a visit, dont worry its an official visit #steemofficialvisit.
what been an african means to me
To me been an african means i have a voice,as an african it means my thoughts, opinions and ideas are as important as that of anyone else irrespective of race or colour .
As an african i live my life fearless, im never afraid to speak i know my voice has great power im never afraid to utilise it even when im in the midst of people in different social class. Somepeople get intimated based on the popular yoruba saying "olowo n soro talaka ni oun ni idea kini idea fe da lai si owo" (a rich man is speaking a poor man says he has an idea whats the essence of your idea without money)
Well as an african i believe that one word might just be the missing piece of the puzzle the next person needs.
I am an african
I always utilise my voice
I am fearless
Afterall if you talk you die!!
You no talk you go still die!!
Thank you God bless africa God bless nigeria.

ahh phunke, if you wanna visit, even if im in sokoto, ill pay your tfare to and from. . .#JK o

olowo n soro talaka ni oun ni idea kini idea fe da lai si owo
ori mi o, ''poverty is a bastard'' as @gbenga will say

fearless lady, see how africa has forged you. Thanks for dropping by . . . .

Sokoto ke no o if its Sokoto enh...lets review the the visit when all the interesting drama (make i no loud am)going on in the north is over...
Thanks for this opportunity though.. stopping by is a pleasure.

lols....................

Nice to meet fellow Nigerians on here, keep up the good work man!

There are alot of Nigerians here on Steemit. Are you on discordapp...PAL

I need an invite link pls

This your journey na real wa... But at the end you were able to do your this campaign for Steemit even on the road, Lagos traffic na normal thing lolzz and don't forget this training of yours pass across to us also here via Steemit. #steemit world what a place and good place to be.

Thanks for sharing...miss you buddy

We have missed you, keep up the good work

lol abi o mr samest, ill try and pass along the training o, i just wish more producers from this side would join me here :(

Destinysaid the wicked producer :)

I find your question intriguing...so here is my take

Being African means different thing to a lot of people. To a non-African, it means the safaris, the lions (which I am yet to see anywhere but the zoo), the jungle, the topless indigenous women ( blame Discovery Channel for that), etc. But to me, it means the guy that could just come to your house in the middle of the night, without prior information and you let him stay the week.

After all, he is your maternal great grandmother's child, who you haven't seen in many years but that night he showed up at your door.

Being African also means making the best of a bad situation. You don't have power to charge your phone? Just wait till the neighbor starts his electric generator, you can then go and plug your phone. While going, remember to go with your socket extension as he may already have half the neighborhood's phone already in his room.

As an African, we should always have hope for a better tomorrow. Tomorrow would be better is an anthem, no matter how bad today looks like, tomorrow would definitely be better.

Respect for elders is a must for an African, you don't dare dream of talking back on an elder. To do so with your parents means you are a candidate for the mental institution, that is after you must've received the greatest ass whooping of your life for being so damned disrespectful.

I'll be stopping here..feeling sleepy.

Mr @green! I love this your write up to high heavens.

This part especially got me good;

Tomorrow would be better is an anthem

I feel as Africans, we have a high endurance rate for nonsense and suffering.

I believe one great man sang a song called suffering and smiling.

Still goes on today.

That is our nature here: hope is a powerful thing. Hope is something we have in abundance. Gracias

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28