Rapid On-boarding With Steemit In Nigeria (SIN)

in #nigeria7 years ago (edited)

The rewards from this post will be split equally with others who made it happen, @fisteganos, @ehiboss and @pharesim

A Tale of Two Conferences

With everyone enthralled with the excitment of Steemfest, you may or may not know that it was not the only Steem conference going on this week. I was attending @steemfest, but @ehiboss had reached out to me and several other stakeholders for support on a project he has been preparing for months. That was a parallel conference, one which is open for free to anyone, in one of our top regions. Google Analytics data has shown that Lagos (Nigeria's largest city) is one of the top cities for Steemit traffic in the world, and Google Trends show that Nigeria is the fastest growing region for interest in "Steemit" after Venezuela.

On-Boarding

I wasn't able to provide @ehiboss with the specific request he made, but I realized that with the prospect of running a large open conference, having all those attendees wait on an account using Steemit.com was not going to be good enough. Every attendee who was there but didn't have an account as soon as possible is at risk of forgetting about it, when the account is made the excitement may have already passed.

So I reached out to @fisteganos with an offer to on-board them directly ourselves. He would collect emails of all the new attendees, and I would use SteemInvite.com (created by @pharesim) as well as donating my Steem Power to create accounts for them with delegation. We did a quick test of how it would work last week, and we put it into practice this weekend. In all we've sent invites to 46 new Steemians.

Conclusion

SteemInvite.com is a practical way to on-board users quickly, and take advantage of the social events that are happening in Steem all over the world. We don't have to rely on one central entity, Steemit Inc. to do our on-boarding for us. I hope this example inspires other stakeholders to co-operate with the people on the ground, who are spreading the word of Steem, so that we can all better capitalize on those efforts. As an aside, I also suggest that you help reward the same users by keeping track of the #promo-steem tag and upvote the valuable work that is being done here.

* Rewards split will be manual because I'm having trouble using the native beneficiary mechanism currently.

Sort:  

Dear @demotruk
Thank you for your support because they really deserve it. I was live at the event and I was so shocked about how the event went. They did much more than I expected and I want to use this opportunity to say kudos to you all that made the event a success.


I introduced my traveling seat mate to steemit while going for the event and I hoped it was an instant invite. That got me wondering how the main event was going be like. I was happy when @ehiboss said he will invite them instantly.. I believe this is the best way get new users into Steemit especially those who we meet for the first time and may not have the opportunity to give first class tutorials.

Thank you from @steemnaira community

Well done on this @demotruk. You are a man of integrity. Am glad you had things figured out.

Through this means we are bound to have large number of steemians on here. Well done!

Thank you for the compliment. I'm sorry that we didn't get to meet at Steemfest :-(

Thank you very much... but more steefests are still on the way and we would definitely meet.

Am glad you all had fun, as for me I felt like I was present through the updates, pictures and videos.

Stay inspired!

Thanks a lot for reaching out to assist in the way you have done. It’s been an awesome experience and more emails are trooping in!

I’ll keep doing all I can to not just grow the numbers of the #nigeria community but also her quality!

As a Nigerian who came into this platform recently, I must say that this is a welcome dvelopment Sir @demotruk. Your benevolence has helped not just the Nigerian community but Steemit as a whole.

We all know that one of the major challenges new members face when registering is the fact that they have to wait 1week or even more before being verified. Mosttimes, the enthusiasm that made them register in the first place fizzles out before the response email returns.

Imagine if those bottlenecks didn't exist. I believe that the number of Steemians would have been upto 1million by now. And I bet there would have been more active users. I'm not saying our statistics aren't right. But we need to do alot more...to ease the process

Thnk you once more Sir for making this bold step. We the Nigeriancommunity are solidly behind you.

#hug-challenge!

Thank you so much sir, you are amazing. This really helped as more emails keep pouring in from all angles. Thanks once more sir.

Your power is strong sire, the man above is your guide

Indeed He is

This is massive!! Great work!! I love this as you are now able to take key functions such as on boarding into the community and therefore free up steemit inc’s resources to focus on other pressing issues, and secondly, having presented at investors shows, this quick on boarding method will be invaluable for the long question and answer sessions following the presentations.... love it! Upvotes, resteemed

I saw your steemfest videos! Well done on the push to promote steem.

Thank you! I will be looking into this on boarding method further and featuring it in some of my blogs ;))

This is absolutely great, the time spent there was so awesome with you guys as everyone has done an awesome thing to add one or two things to the success of the sin .
Blessed

All in the love of the Nigerian community, i dont know you buddy, but what i read up there, is amazing, care, support and Togetherness.

Thank you here@demotruk

Thanks a lot for these acts of kindness. Nigerians will not let you down.

Yes Nigerians are coming up to gain more recognition. It was a great miss for not being at ile-ife for the steemit SIN outreach,because i saw that it was fun for those who where there.

Thanks to social media where some of the fun was share, like their snap shot with new steemians. Nice job weldone @destinysaid, @ewuso, @ehiboss and to every nigeria curators. We love you all,let make steemit stay and spread in Nigeria.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28