Don't expect too much from people

in #nigeria7 years ago

cool.jpg
Image source: google

Squatting someone comes with a lot of challenges and responsibilities. I never realized this until I became a finalist in the university.

As a finalist, I had the opportunity to pick a person to stay with me(not two abeg... some people do it, but I could not. The space would be too small for that na)

I had several people to choose from as a lot of people kept coming to beg me to squat them.

I confided in my sister, and she told me to choose someone that is younger than I am and won't stress me. So I choose quiet Margrethe. She was my junior by two years, and she had stayed in my former room with her sister.

For the first two weeks, there was peace until I made a discovery... It was the fact that I did the chores most of the time while she messed the place up (we both did, but she just rarely participated in cleaning up)

So that Friday morning, I became angry when I saw she left the plates to go home. (I actually thought she had gone home because she used to go home on weekends.

So I left for lectures angry and when I came back later, I decided to wash them before resting. I brought out the bowl we kept our dishes, and tada! I saw that they had reduced... so I was like how come?

I then discovered that the reason why it was scanty was because she later came back to wash her own.

It really baffled me because even though I am way older than she is, I wash both of her plates, and hers is usually more because I don't really eat.

So I became angry.

I challenged her, and she said the reason she did so was because she was ill and did not have the strength to wash mine too. We fought as a result of that and a few weeks later, she left.

My view: I think she was selfish. If she had left the plates, it would have been better. I would have washed them as usual without complaining. But how come her sickness only gave her the strength to wash hers alone?

I also think I was to blame because I expected too much from her.

What do you think?

Sort:  

Living together can be a challenge, yes. Takes a lot of patience and yet that patience must be balanced with willingness to engage in confrontation so as not to be cheated. You tried your best it didn't work out, I don't see it as being your fault at all.

Nice post.

Thanks you very much for this reply. I was able to learn a lot from her, and I don't think I would love to live with anyone again so soon

Good story @Chemmy. Its good you express your feelings............no1 was wrong it was just a misunderstanding based on different values and aims.And its true all of us should be independent.

Yea, thanks for your comment

I can relate to your experience. It's just that in my case it's actually a guy, after all I'm a guy. He currently has not been talking to me. And guess what. I'm not disturbed anymore unlike before, and this is because I don't expect him to go on talking to me anymore. So the point is if you don't expect you will never be disappointed, and you will be the happiest person on earth.

You can imagine! Such is life, and life is such.

My friend that keeps inspiring me, thank you so much

don't expect much keep going on :)

Yeah. Thanks so much for visiting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67