MOVING TO NIGERIA: FROM US TO NIGERIA FOR BUSINESS OPPORTUNITIESsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nigeria7 years ago

Post Title: MOVING TO #NIGERIA: FROM US TO #NIGERIA FOR BUSINESS OPPORTUNITIES

IMG_2677.JPG

Good Evening World,

So I will be traveling from Portland, Oregon, USA to Nigeria, to give some of my business ideas a run. I was born in Nigeria, but I have lived in the US since I was 12 years old. I have been back couple time now in my late 20’s and now I have decided to go back home and venture into the business world.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Last year I shipped a 40’ foot container home to Nigeria, with all my stuff in it, car, clothes, business equipments, office supplies, electronics and other things that I planned on selling or use to start a business. Now I there has not been a day that has gone by without me asking myself, “are you sure you want to do this?” and every time, I must push myself to answer “Yes, I can do it!”

IMG_3388.JPGIMG_3381.JPG

I was home in Nigeria last December and I was able to use my blackberry phone as modem for my MacBook and iPhone. I spent most of my time in the village, because it was the holidays and I was also working on a project for my dad at our home. Village is very rough, dusty and lost of folks living below poverty line. I was able to register a business name while I was there on vacation, and I was given the certificate from the state government. As I plan my travel and my move to Nigeria, I have some goals and investment plans that I hope to venture in and hopefully will turn some profit.

My Main Goals:

  • Find a place to live in the city
  • Start a restaurant business
  • Start a salon/barbering business
  • Get into alcohol and winery business

Investments:

  • Repair/renovate schools, maternity clinics and hospital
  • Sponsor clean running water/boreholes in the community
  • Introduce and educate clean energy and alternative green energy to small communities
  • Invest in banks and financial services

IMG_3452.JPGIMG_2964.JPG

Many have discouraged me, many have laughed and just a few have lend an advice or comment. I have a few ideas of my own and I don’t know if anyone is willing to share some of their business ideas with me.

Some Business Ideas:

  • Keke NAPEP Business

    • The cost of Purchase is about N500,000
    • Register with a Keke station (Association) with N10,000
    • You lease it at the cost of N650,000
    • Weekly payment of N15,000 for the duration of 10 months.
  • Red Palm Oil Buy/Sell

    • Buy / Sell
    • Packaging & Branding
    • Distribution and Wholesale
    • Exportation
  • Currency Trading

    • Buy / Sell Naira
    • Buy / Sell USD
  • Government Contractor

    • Buy contracts from the government
    • Bid on government contracts
    • Bill government for renovation and repairs of schools, clinics and hospitals

IMG_3384.JPGIMG_2979.JPG

Please all advice and comments are welcome

I know Nigeria is rough, dangerous, and lots of crazy people, but there are places in the world worse than Nigeria and more dangerous. It is easy to blame the government who are more than often notoriously known for corrupt practices, but as a citizen of Nigeria & the world, we all have a part to play in ending poverty, income inequality & gender inequality.

IMG_3086.JPGIMG_3298.JPG

Nigeria is changing, there’s a breed of hungry and progressive individuals out there who are tired of the slow progress, unnecessary bribery and lack of common every day needs to the masses. As I prepare for my journey, I know it will be tough, but I welcome all challenge.

Thank You For Reading….

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All Tips, Follow, Comments, UpVotes & Replies Are Very Much Appreciated.
Follow / UpVote / ReSteem / --> @afrikanprince If you want to see more great content like this one in your newsfeed.*

CHECK OUT MY APPS: Apple's AppStore & Google's PlayStore

Social Networks:

Thanks for reading. Feel free to leave your thoughts and feedback.

923 Followers | 448 Posts | 3849 Following | (48.5) Reputation Score | Account Value $198.17

Sort:  

Just taking this opportunity to say "THANK YOU FOR FOLLOWING ME"

I am so impressed! I will definitely be following along on your journey on instagram and youtube as well as steemit. Just curious, are you Igbo by any chance?

Never mind. I see your name is Obinna. My question is answered. hahahahahahahaha

Yea I'm Igbo. Go try and build my foundation back home and also travel Africa while I'm there.

I used to want to do that. Maybe one day if I make it there, I will look you up! :)

Well I bought a land last year and I am trying to see obinna jr running around lol time to build my legacy. Well I can always come back or travel to another country, but as for right now, I'm all in.

I'm following already. Good luck on your sojourn.

Best wishes for you my friend , I hope will have good opportunities in your way and in your job. see ya man ;)

Thank you, still got couple more months left. Saving up and packing slowly.

great photos , it's good to get back at home , I wish a good future for Africa and all Africans .

Thank you. I am following you.

New Followers get 0.001 SBD$ and an upvote for free!!

Just follow @steemvote and...

  • we follow back
  • send you 0.001 SBD to your wallet
  • upvote your newest posting

That's a good work , you will be a great man for Nigeria , good luck !

Thanks, very much appreciated!

I like black people , Most great Actors and musicians are black people , that's great to meet a perfect man in here who really do good works for his Homeland ! thanks for your idea and your work.

LoL - Thanks bro bro ;-)

Awesome! Looking forward to hearing more of your journey!

Great post @afrikanprince Nija must suffer. We have community on discord under #minnowsupportproject join the community and let's move together https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

One love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62684.33
ETH 2456.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66