Why I Stopped Mining....

in #nicehash7 years ago

So on June 1st 2017 I started mining with NiceHash. I really enjoyed this as I got to see how mining works and it introduced me to the kinds of coins that NiceHash was mining. I started this mining project using a new browser-based wallet KryptoKit. This was a great place to start. I used this wallet as a destination address for 2 weeks. I managed to mine $5.51 worth of bitcoin.

But then I decided to put some coin into CoinBase using their online wallet on that site. So the coin headed to KryptoKit never reached the .01 bitcoin threshold for a payout. As a neophyte I did not realize that the payout was this. So I chalk this up to learning and not really understanding what I'm reading. Guilty. So I took a break and stopped mining for a couple of days. But upon reflection I thought maybe I would still plug away at night and see how long it would take to reach the payout minimum.

When I finally understood what the threshold was (0.01 bitcoin payout for a non-NiceHash wallet) i understood that I would have to keep my computer on 24/7 to make the $30 by 8/1. I only mine at night when the electric rate is cheaper in our area, so this date is going to continue to slide further and further into the future.

Maybe I will mine at night only and on weekends when I am not playing Planetside2....

=====================================================

Follow @pixzelplethoracomputer-1574533_1920.jpg

Sort:  

Best of luck to you. I'm thinking about mining because with my current electricity plan I get free electricity at night.

Whoa! I may have to move!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01