You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily NiceHash Mining news 1-24-18 6 slot mobo

in #nicehash7 years ago

I was going to ask him the same question. I’ve been mining on NiceHash with two computers for about two months now and have been thinking of stepping up my game, but now I just found out about STEEM mining and wondering if I should go in that direction.
So far, I have noticed that STEEM mining is more CPU intensive vice GPU mining for Bitcoin.
Mining STEEM means less GPU’s and less electricity which is expensive, but since the CPU does the processing that means the motherboard, cpu, and ram are more important and that is costly as well.
STEEM also needs a very high speed internet connection vice the low speed requirement for Bitcoin mining. Also, from what I have read so far, STEEM mining requires LINUX, that might be an issue for some people. I’m sure there is more but I haven’t finished researching everything I wanted to know yet .
I just started looking into STEEM today, so If i'm incorrect with any of my info please feel free to let me know.

MM

Sort:  

In steem terminology, people who do mining are called Witness. They usually set up Linux servers in the cloud, with high processing power and resilience. While I believe the technical part is not a big deal, the key challenge is how can you be elected as a Witness by the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61937.20
ETH 3004.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49