Most terrorists are islamists : true / most islamists are terrorists : false

in #nice8 years ago

Don't get me wrong I am not a defender of Islam nor am I a defender of terrorism.

I was just shocked by today's news but also shocked to read some comments on a news website.

Some of these comments were basically saying let's kill all the muslims, let's ban islam...

Personally I think religions (most of them if not all) bring much more bad than good (wars, conflicts, hate) but I still think we should respect them and people's beliefs.

Terrorism acts are done by a very small minority of crazy people so my message is just please don't hate your neighbor for being a muslim.

Just because a person thinks differently and you don't understand why he thinks like that doesn't make him a bad person. It's hate that leads to wars, it's hate that leads to terrorism so don't get in that stupid game.

Spread love not hate.

Sort:  

Ok ... I have experienced the far end of the spectrum and I can tell you first hand that if I never see violence again for the rest of my life, I'll die a happy man. I certainly have no desire to be the source of violence, however I understand the realities of this life and I have a family to protect.

That said, I look at this from a very math based, objective perspective:

If there are 1.6 billion Muslims in the world, and you simply took a cross section sample from around the globe and asked questions like "Do you support violent acts against non-Muslims in non-Islamic countries?" or simply, "Do you support the actions of ISIS around the globe?", the responses would certainly be interesting.

If only 0.01% of that survey resulted in a "Yes" to either of those questions, you are dealing with a population of roughly 16 million individuals around the globe who in all likelihood would wage war if the situation was right.

Estimates of 0.01% is remarkably small.

I don't hate my neighbors or fellow citizens who are Muslims, until they openly support and/or actively pursue the deaths of my other fellow citizens.. even then, its not hate. Its simple biological self-defense of myself and my progeny at certain level.

I just happen to think that number is a bit higher in countries like Yemen, or Saudi Arabia... or even Iran. Regardless of their reasons, it doesn't change the results: lots of blood in the streets, all over the globe.

If you want to disagree with me, please do so objectively and point out in my arguments where I'm wrong with my numbers or my analysis of those numbers.

This is not emotional for me. I'm just sick of the tactic and I see no indications its going to get better before it gets worse.

Ok now how many americans would agree to wipe out all the muslim population?
I'm sure that would be an interesting number too.
So fight terrorism ok, but hate 1/4 of the world population...

sorry if you know people who "support and/or actively pursue the deaths of my other fellow citizens" then I can understand that you hate them. I think you should contact authorities too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44