Marian Hossa to Miss Next Season

in #nhl7 years ago (edited)

Chicago Blackhawks forward Marian Hossa will miss the upcoming NHL season due to a progressive skin disorder. Reports surfaced late Tuesday night and Hossa confirmed the news with the statement below early this morning.

 Over the course of the last few years, under the supervision of the Blackhawks medical staff, I have been privately undergoing treatment for a progressive skin disorder and the side effects of the medications involved to treat the disorder. Due to the severe side effects associated with those medications, playing hockey is not possible for me during the upcoming 2017-18 season. While I am disappointed that I will not be able to play, I have to consider the severity of my condition and how the treatments have impacted my life both on and off the ice. 

In what is sure to be a Hall of Fame career, Hossa has 525 goals and 609 assists. He has appeared in five Stanley Cup Finals, winning three with the Blackhawks.

For now, Hossa will be placed on long term injured reserve which will save the team from his $5.275 million cap hit, but the NHL may object to the move claiming Chicago is trying to circumvent the salary cap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44