Thank You 9 and 27. Tennessee Titans retire Steve McNair and Eddie George's numbers.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nfl5 years ago

20190915_112325.png
Source R.I.P. Steve McNair.

Today the Tennessee Titans will retire former legendary quarterback Steve McNair and legendary running back Eddie George's numbers. Steve McNair wore number 9 and Eddie George wore number 27. This will be the first number 9 and number 27 to be retired in NFL history.

Both of these hardworking Titans totally deserve this honor. Steve and Eddie were the Titans identity for a good number of years in the early 2000's. They helped lead the Titans to the franchise's only Super Bowl appearance and for a number of years consistently lead the Titans to good W-L records.

Eddie was a powerful all-around savage running back. Steve McNair was the original Cam Newton people.

sportstalk football.png

Steve McNair and Eddie George were the first athletes I ever looked up to and wanted to be like as a kid. I remember playing ball in my backyard and totally trying to mimic their playing styles.

I remember playing with both of them in so many Madden video games and NFL 2K5. The non-stop trucking with Eddie George and the mobility and accuracy of Steve McNair. So much fun.

I loved watching these guys play. They were true Titans, true warriors.

Since those men have retired the Titans have not been quite the same. They are still often the first Titans I think about, perhaps they always will be even if the Titans accomplish greater things.

I am so happy no other Titan will ever get to wear 9 or 27 again. It just would not look right seeing another dude wearing those numbers when so many memories were made with Eddie and Steve wearing those numbers.

9 and 27 are iconic for Titans fans.

Its crazy how numbers can become so impactful and memorable. I will always think of those players when I think of those numbers.

In my eyes 9 and 27 are beautiful numbers. I just get happy when I think of them, especially on the Titans uniform.

sportstalk football.png

This day is sad for me for several reasons.

This is essentially one of, if not the, final chapter for the Steve McNair and Eddie George football story.

It is also sad because in 2009 Steve McNair died. He physically can't be in Tennessee to see his jersey retired in front of Titans fans.

Eddie George has had to make sure Steve's memory lives on during this week as he is the final half remaining of this number retirement ceremony. All week Eddie has been in Tennessee answering questions and making various appearances in celebration of the retired numbers.

Eddie George has been showing that not only was he a phenomenal player, he's also a person of great character and kindness. He always talks about Steve McNair with the utmost honor and dignity for his fallen brother. It makes me so happy that Eddie is such an honorable man. One of the athletes I looked up to growing up is also a great dude.

If you give a crap watch this video where Eddie eloquently answers questions about Steve and both their Titan careers. This video really shows how much Eddie cares and how much he's appreciative of everything.

Honestly I am a die hard Titans fan and I could 100 percent go on and on about how much these athletes have meant to me and impacted my life.

If you are a sports and/or football fan like myself I think you can understand where this passion is coming from. If it wasn't for Steve and Eddie I probably would never have found Steemit or Sportstalksocial.

Thank you Steve McNair and Eddie George. R.I.P. Steve McNair.

IMG_20190915_024902.jpg

IMG_20190915_024905.jpg
Source for both images.

footer.png

Logopit_1563774818182.jpg

Sort:  

Eddie, not only a Buckeye legend but Titan too!

Heck yes, he's an all around American football legend! :)

It is a true and heartfelt tribute to Steve McNair and Eddie George, by retirning the number 9 & 27. What interesting about both of these numbers is that if you add 2+7, then it becomes 9. So 9 and 27 are alike numbers and these two greats have made Titans really proud. Respect......Tribute ....

Its very nice that you pointed out those similarities :) its harmonious and peaceful. 9 x 3 = 27 also! I appreciate you showing these players respect! Thank you.

Yes, they deserve this heartfelt tribute. They have made Titans and all sports lover proud.

Nissan stadium witnesses this as a half time celebration to retire the jersey number 9 & 27. The great players deserve respect and I am feeling the same way right now. I wish the soul of Steve Mcnair witness this.

I appreciate your comment :)

Both have been the driving force for the success behind Titans and they not only evolved as better in their profession but also lead to success of Titans to a level where the sports fraternity recognised Titans as Titans now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes they will always be remembered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31