We need a proper, decentralised exchange - sick of getting f*cked around

in #next6 years ago (edited)

I'm going to explain below my, almost funny how nightmarish it was, journey trading/hodling Safex:

So I found out about this project around August, and fell in love with it. I believed in Dan, and put more money than a sensible person would relative to everything they owned, into it. Unfortunately it dropped for a bit as I waited for it to main. I was checking the discord, the safex forum daily and new it would come any day. But it dropped. Then it dropped some more. Weeks passed as I waited for "moon" but it just kept dropping. I was watching my previous holds go up 3-10x in value as it continued to drop, until it hit around 115 sats, and it sat there for a while, then all of a sudden, the boom started, and I was delighted. 110 sats up to 330, I couldnt beleive it, then all of a sudden BAM Bittrex announced they would delisted it with no warning or reason and it crashed to 85 sats (which of course I was asleep during the fall). I was devastated, and moved the coins from my wallet at the time, to Cryptopia, the only other exchange hosting Safex, to try to trade amongst the volatility that was bound to occur after such an event. I was carefully trading with stop losses, getting maybe 2-3% daily but consistently which I was very happy with. I logged on one day to find Safex had crashed again; cryptopia had not only decided to delist Safex (for the reason that "Safex community were being mean to them?), but the omni wallet was down for maintenance which meant no-one could take it off the exchange. This caused a mass panic sell, as no-one could remove the safex from the site, only sell it, which most did as they were afraid they'd lose access to their coins altogether. So there we were with 0 exchange and my beloved Safex I'd put everything into in the absolute shitter, following the discord daily and Dan's updates to find that a small UK exchange, called TradeSatoshi had listed us!

I transferred my coins there immediately as soon as Cryptopia once again allowed for withdrawals waiting for the impending pump of the new exchange so I could trade and increase my Safex coin hold. This cost me 1500 safex withdrawal fee, for a maximum of 50000 safex per withdrawal as they would not verify my account, despite numerous emails, costing a total of 900,000 safex (90k usd, taking the price if Safex yesterday it was over 10c)

I day traded on TS for a few days, until suddenly my balance showed as 0 on the site. I was horrified, and wrote a support ticket on the site and joined their discord, where they have a "support" section. To my complete horror, both my Discord support message, and on the website were replied to someone with the username "mod Jesus", a known scammer in the Safex Discord who had previously offered to sell Safex for Litecoin, but then blocked the senders after they had sent their Litecoin, without sending anything (I even checked the Discord user number to see if it was the same person, it was).I was told to be calm and that they were under a DDos attack which was the reason for this issue, despite seeing other people experience completely different issues in the support section. Days went by I was pulling my hair out, and the site wouldn't open for me, and I was sure that was the end of my coins. I found the owner of the site, and messaged him, and I eventually got my issue sorted out, and transferred my precious Safex to my own wallet.

Keep in mind all of this happened within succession and in a period of 2-3 weeks. We need to get rid of these shitty exchanges, I'm sick of being fucked over which is why I've invested heavily into NEXT - it is exactly what the crypto world needs right now.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tommyboy50, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54