In a city like NY

in #newyork2 years ago

Hello hello,

Brief introduction, I arrived to NYC almost 2 months ago, first to the upper west side for a week to stay with my wonderful friend and favorite New Yorker Ana, she is not from my hometown but very close and we've known each other for many years, I was amazed about how much she had changed, she reminds in essence the same Ana but she is evolve into this new human being her mind is open and her heart is open, she is born and raised catholic, she is a strong believer in good and humanity, loves the wonders of the space and living in New York, her all time favorite city besides Milan, my experience in the Upper West Side was lovely, I explored Riverside, around the hood and met my first New Yorker, Luis, with whom I shared a very lovely date. From day 1, I've seen people in overdose of heroin, rats everywhere (I like them), homeless guys dicks when they are peeing, people hungry on the streets asking for money, people faking being homeless on the street just acting and asking for money and many other wonders, I've discovered that New York accepted a law to legalize the grown, production and commercial distribution on cannabis, I found it extremely useful as cannabis is the only drug I consume recreational and also medicinal (I meditate with it), sometimes my trips are very strong, at first It scared me but then I learned how to surf the trips, just breathing and observing, I've been getting to know a lot about myself or aspects that I just couldn't see before, sometimes I feel like I'm crazy, others I just realize I'm just smarter that the avagare of the population. NY is helping me develop my empathy, I'm becoming way too careless but each day more and more empathic, It's tough to care, to care is the most dangerous and rebellious act of modern society. After hangin in the Upper West Side, I said hello to my new neighborhood East Midtown, my neighbors are the Empire State Building, Broadway and the Upper East Side. I live in the Nomad District, haha oh the irony, New York is just a weird city for a guy like me, I notice everything, I feel everything, New York is just saying to me: so this is who you think you are ¿no?, I feel like in NY there is always a lesson going on, the city demands you to toughen up and keep going, the first two months, I dedicated myself to explore the city, make new friends, go to new clubs, restaurants, museums, met all the neighborhoods, go watch a lot of broadway, off broadway and off-off broadway shows, which is all the same, the only things that changes are the number of seats, I found out that my favorites are the off-off broadway shows, the thing I'm most amazed about New York is the shows.

I started to study and live at the notorious American Academy of Dramatic Arts, I'm amazed by the school and by the talented people that surrounds me, we all are actors and besides that these kids also model, write, dance, sing, record, direct and the list goes on, there is so much talent, I hope to work with many of them one day, I really respect each and everyone as an artist, may all your dreams come true and your art refines by the day to all the American Academy Alumni. Studying at AADA is one thing, living at ti is another, you get to met the artists, how they are, how they live, how they think, we all are so different, living with so many people is hard, they all have strong and main character energies, I would hired each and everyone of them, I can easily see them in TV, Cinema and Theater. I hope to one day have the resources to create and produce with talented artists.

At the Academy, not that I care but there's older people than me, at the dorms, I'm almost the oldest and at my apartment I'm the oldest, I learn a lot from these kids each day, they make me see my dreams, my fears, my emotions, parts of myself, I can reflect myself in each of them, sometimes is like traveling back in time, I believe everyone is different, every road is different, we all are going to live different experiences but I believe they will all choose love and the better choice always, as Stanislavski once said, there has to be ethic in our profession. I sometimes feel too old for the dorms, there is too much going on that's why I'm looking for my new neighborhood in New York.

Now, even in New York, I just want peace, I want to keep learning, working, creating, making money and be at peace with myself, going to art events, museums, meeting new people and having fun will always be welcome.

In dedication of my good friend Ana, who not only opened the doors of her home to me, she opened the doors of New York and my perception of many things.

Victor Manuel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77